Which of the 3 versions of Windows 7 is licensed for Virtual Machine?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by NJRonbo, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #1
    I remember when Vista came out you had to
    purchase the more expensive version if you
    wanted to use it on a virtual machine.

    Is that the same case with upcoming Windows 7
    or can all the versions be run on a virtual
    machine such as VMWARE or PARALLELS?

    Thanks
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    The restriction against virtualization of the lesser editions of Vista was removed with SP1. Even for Home Basic. You can look it up here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/about/legal/useterms/default.aspx

    This language was preserved in the beta versions of Windows 7 so one can hope it will be in the final version.

    EDIT: Not that it helps much, but I just checked c:\windows\system32\license.rtf in my copy of Windows 7 Ultimate and it has the exact same language. The file is stamped as EULAID:Win7_RM.0_ULT_RTL_en-us

    EDIT: I have a copy of HP from TechNet, all the EULAs are in the ISO and EULAID:Win7_RM.0_HP_RTL_en-us has the exact same text. So does Home Basic EULAID:Win7_RM.0_HB_RTL_en-us

    B
     
  3. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
  4. ymarker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    #4
    Win 7 Professional & Ultimate come with a win XP mode license to run under virtual pc. You can down the RC XP mode from microsoft.com or wait another week
     
  5. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #5
    Woah...

    I hope I understand your response correctly.

    You are saying that only the PROFESSIONAL and
    ULTIMATE are licensed for a virtual machine? Not
    the PREMIUM?

    Also, what is an XP MODE?

    Finally, your reply, If I am understanding correctly,
    vastly differs with that of post #2 above which states
    all versions can run on a virtual machine.


    Look forward to your reply.
     
  6. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #6
    You have answered a question which wasn't asked. ;)

    Don't worry, they haven't understood your question.

    You don't need Professional or Premium but those two versions include a Windows XP virtualisation mode for running programs which need XP in Windows 7.
     
  7. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #7
    Olly,

    Thanks for the clarification.

    So, if I understand this correctly....

    I can buy PREMIUM and run it on a virtual machine
    on my Mac via Parallels or Fusion.

    The only difference with PROFESSIONAL and
    ULTIMATE is that they come with an XP mode
    just in case there is a program that will not
    work under Windows 7.

    Correct?

    So assuming all the programs I will be using
    are WINDOWS 7 compliant, I should be okay
    with the PREMIUM version.
     
  8. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #8
    It's not quite that simple, there are other differences between the versions but you will be ok with Home Premium.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. NJRonbo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #9
    Olly,

    I understand there are differences with the versions,
    but all I want is one licensed for Virtual PC.

    I don't see any reason (other than possible XP compatibility)
    for any Mac user wanting to run Windows on a virtual
    machine from time to time to want anything more than
    PREMIUM. All the extras on the higher versions are things
    related to networking and protection that I don't think are
    relevant to those of us that just want to run a few windows
    programs from time to time. All that networking can be
    done on the MAC end.

    ...that is, unless I am missing something.

    Thanks, Olly. You have been VERY helpful.
     
  10. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #10
    Glad to help. :)

    I'm sure Home Premium will be perfect for your needs. I've had it on order since July. :D
     
  11. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #11
    No, it usually can't be done with OS X, because OS X, just like the "home" editions of Windows, does not properly integrate into a corporate network -- but as a home user, you probably won't ever come in a situation where that matters. ;)

    I don't know where you live, but here in Germany the difference between a Pro and an Ultimate edition is something around 20 Euros for the Systembuilder/OEM versions, and the Systembuilder/OEM Ultimate Edition of Windows 7 costs around 155 Euros. I think that makes the decision rather easy.
     
  12. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #12
    I paid £45 for the full version of Home Premium.
     
  13. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    For a while I had a Mac Pro running OS X 10.5 on my desk at work and it integrated pretty well into our domain so I really don't know what you are talking about. Home versions of Windows just won't cache your credentials, but you can usually still access domain items if you provide a username and password at each access. (For the record the Mac Pro is now running Vista SP2 64 for some high end engineering software).

    For me, the main reason I tend to buy Pro/Business is Remote Desktop. Sometimes I need to run something under Windows, and don't want to be in the same room. Then, I just reboot to Windows and access it from one of the MacBooks.

    NOTE: I used to recommend and use OEM/SBE licenses as well, but after looking into it this past week I will raise a flag every time someone brings this up. In the US at least Microsoft has made it pretty clear that the OEM/SBE license is NOT for end users/hobbyists it is licensed ONLY for preparation for resale to a third party. Vista pre-SP1 was the last one where the license was still fuzzy.

    Not that this means it won't actually work, but you'd be in the same boat as someone running a hackintosh, running an OS outside its license. Just like a hackintosh it can be justified up to a point, but you need to be aware that that is what you are doing.

    To bring this back on topic the positive side of this is that they opened up running all editions of Vista SP1 and higher in a VM, and have provided a free virtual XP environment for W7 Pro and Ultimate.

    B
     

Share This Page