Which one to get MacBook 13" 2.4Mhz 2GB RAM or MacBook Pro 2.4Mhz 4GB RAM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JimmyMac123, Jun 20, 2010.

1. JimmyMac123 macrumors newbie

I'm looking to buy a MacBook or MacBook Pro but i can't seem to decide to which one would be the best fit for me.

I am a business student and will be using it primarily for research, writing assignments and making excel worksheets.

Is the macbook 2gb ram enough or should i get the macbook pro with 4gb ram? also i'm intending to be using it for at least 3 years.

2. wbham macrumors member

The Macbook will do those tasks fine. I had mostly the same requirements as you, but chose the MacBook Pro anyway, mainly due to the aluminum case. I don't like the white plastic at all, and with the education discount the price difference between the two computers wasn't that great. You also get the backlit keyboard which I have found to be really useful.
    So if you like the macbook, get it, it should meet your requirements for the next three years, but I highly recommend the MacBook pro

3. themadrhino macrumors newbie

Buy the MacBook Pro

Hello,

I just upgraded from a iBook G4 1.33 GHz to the MacBook Prog 2.4 with 4 GB and a 320 GIG hard drive and could not be happier. I was more concerned about the 13 inch screen but got over that when I spoke with someone who has an older MacBook Pro 13 inch and said no problem doing spreadsheets and presentations. My friend bought a cheap $200 good monitor at Best Buy for big jobs.

I also kept going back and forth on configurations and by the time I got the MacBook to the the configuration I wanted it cost the same for less overall capability.

But what finally made my decision was telling the person at the Apple store I intend to hold on to it for 5 years like my iBook that now my older kids wanted and wouldn't let me sell on Craigs List.