Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Reminisce32

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 13, 2009
If you converted to Mac mainly because of the OS or a specific Mac software, I'd like to hear the details. Thanks.

Scrapula

macrumors 6502
May 1, 2012
Seattle, WA
If you converted to Mac mainly because of the OS or a specific Mac software, I'd like to hear the details. Thanks.

It was quite a while ago, but I was a software developer using X-Windows under Unix System V back around 1990. I loved windowing systems, but still had a PC running DOS. I waited for Windows 3.1 and it was so horrible, that I switched to a Mac and have never looked back.

mtondreo

macrumors member
Mar 21, 2011
I converted to a mac because of all of the things I heard and multiple people telling me I would never want to touch a PC again. I was familiar with the ipad, iphones and ipods - so it made since. Unfortunately that transition has not gone smooth for me. I do not regret owning my imac, but my next purchases have been PC's. I will probably try and sell my imac and pick up a mac mini because I think that it will better better as our media server - but I will no be using it as a computer. still undecided on that

glutenenvy

macrumors regular
Sep 6, 2011
WA

I converted to a MacBook when it was nearly the only choice to natively run XP at the time. Everything else in the new PC notebook world was with Vista. It was Microsoft marketing pushing Vista to PC manufacturers that drove me to Apple products.

I've been through two or three MacBook Pro upgrades and although the new equipment doesn't have XP drivers last I checked, XP is still viable and getting updates from Microsoft. My other OS' are primarily run in virtual machines now.

phrk

macrumors member
Mar 26, 2012
Germany