Who do I have to pay to get photos on my iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by The General, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
    Seriously ... I've tried progressive, I've tried baseline, I've tried different compression levels, .jpeg/.jpg, different resolutions, RGB, CMYK, everything known to man.

    Why is it impossible to get photos to sync from a folder to my iPhone? Every time I try to sync it says:

    All I want to do is make my own wallpaper. It's already bad enough not being able to make my own ringtones, but I can't make my own wallpaper either? :confused:

    It says "optimizing photos for iPhone" or whatever when attempting to sync ... why does it try that if it's just going to say it can't be displayed? Why bother converting them if they can't be displayed???

    This is a travesty. :mad:
     
  2. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    Well, you definitely don't have to pay to get pictures on your iPhone. It's not like anyone's charging for iPhone wallpapers (or are they?!). I know a number of sites including the popular Iconfactory.com are offering iPhone sized wallpapers. Maybe you could try downloading some of theirs and see if they sync. I don't know what the problem is otherwise since I don't have an iPhone myself.
     
  3. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #3
    The pay thing was just a figure of speech. I was going to put "who do I have to blow" but that would be inappropriate. :rolleyes:

    I tried the wallpapers from icon factory and they do not sync either. :mad:
     
  4. sevans31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #4
    I'm having the same issues and "willing to pay" too... so frustrating. Everything else sync's but photos.

    Running Vista 32-bit
     
  5. DerekS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #5
    That's your first problem.
     
  6. Nym macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #6
    Don't be like that! lol!

    iTunes 7.3 is Vista-ready and it's no excuse for the device not synching the photos the way it should.

    I don't know what could be the problem, does iTunes sync Folders with pictures or do you need an app installed?

    With iPods on the Mac, it syncs your iPhoto Library/Albums, but doesn't give you the option to synch specific system folders as far as I know. Other than that, I'm clueless too, we don't have iPhones in Europe yet :)
     
  7. appleii2mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #7
    Have you tried changing the extension to .jpg instead of .jpeg? Just a wild guess on my part, but seems like it's worth a shot.
     
  8. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #8
    Vista may be "copy protecting" them, you know, all that DRM jazz. Its a valid copy of windows, right?
     
  9. diabolic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #9
    Photos sync fine here on a Vista system. Over 400 .jpg photos, all different resolutions, nothing special done to them. I just selected the directory to sync in itunes.
     
  10. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #10
    ;) I bet Cingular (er, AT&T) would charge you for adding wallpapers to the phone if they could.
     
  11. ericld macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #11
    With all your other Windows-and -Vista-related woes, and now this, I'd consider a switch ;)
     
  12. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #12
    No doubt it's a Vista thing. Regretably, I am using Vista. :(

    I play a lot of games and use AutoCAD so PC is my only option for now.
     
  13. BobbyDigital macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #13
    Macs run windows too. :D
     
  14. mrtune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #14
    I use vista to sync pics. Haven't had a problems. I just setup a folder to sync via itunes and it syncs beautifully. I also suugest using .jpg instead of .jpeg.
     
  15. shk718 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #15
    i'm getting a similar problem on VISTA - it says "optimizing photos" then just seems to hang. could it be the size of some of the photo's or the type that is causing the problem? i'm going to try just a few photos of JPEG and see it that does it.
     
  16. phillipjfry macrumors 6502a

    phillipjfry

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Location:
    Peace in Plainfield
    #16
    What is so special about jpEg than just jpg? What is it about that E that would make iTunes crap out while trying to sync the pictures? I have neither iPhone (gf won't let me have my CC back :( ) nor Vista but am curious as to the thought process behind the jpeg vs. jpg.
     
  17. CarloVonSexron macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #17

    I get that same error message, except for episodes of The Office...that I purchased in iTunes. WTF?
     
  18. BEASTMAN macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #18
    I am getting the same problem as you general, I used photoshop, the only time I have been able to get a picture on this damn thing is to open the file in paint and resave as a jpg, and of course then it looks like garbage. So maybe certain programs work, I am gonna just try moving the pics to my imac and saving them again in iphoto, hopefully it saves them well and will work. Yeah should have set this thing up on the mac....stoopid
     
  19. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #19
    Yeah but Macs don't have dual 8800GTXs.
     
  20. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  21. CyberGreg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
  22. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #22
    I wouldn't doubt it... But I haven't had a virus or anything like that (other than windoze itself :)) in years, and I don't even use any of that antivirus crap that just slows your computer down, I just go about my business...

    I'm not too worried over whether or not this bug gets fixed, as I will be buying a MacBook Pro from the cube when I go to New York in September. :)
     
  23. sevans31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #23
    A workaround has been found! I found it on the iLounge forums... If you store the photos you want to sync on a FAT32 drive (like a usb thumbstick or digital camera memory card) and point your iTunes to this folder, everything will sync fine.

    It's an inconvenience for sure, but it'll work until they release a patched iTunes for us Vista users.
     
  24. trauta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #24
    The drive does not have to be FAT32. NTFS works as long as its a seperate drive from the root drive. This is similar to the .MOV/.M4V file crashing and stuttering issue. When moving files to a secondary drive, .MOV/.M4V files play wihtout problem.
     
  25. RBilRamZ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    #25
    Tangent, I know

    Why do you need to use a PC for AutoCAD. The beauty of the Intel switch is the, gasp, ability to start up Windoz and use CAD. Thats the ONLY thing I dont use OSX for. You can still sync you computer with iTunes etc in OSX mode.
     

Share This Page