Who's 1st to install: Western Digital launches 320GB notebook drive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mtbdudex, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. mtbdudex macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #1
    My MacBook 80GB drive is "full" at 78GB.

    Just saw this announcement:
    "Western Digital launches 320GB notebook drive"

    I'm thinking to buy that, anyone also going to install a HUGE 320GB HD soon in MB/MBP?

    http://www.macworld.com/news/2007/10/31/scorpio/index.php?lsrc=mwrss
     
  2. georgeoommen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #2
    apologies for my ignorance, but will the 3GB/s drives even work in MBs and MBPs?? I thought only the 1.5GB/s drives would work..
     
  3. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #3
    The 3gb/sec drives will "fall back" to the 1.5gb/sec speed.
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
  5. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Damn, I want one of those if it'll work. My 2 month-old 17" MBP has the standard 160gb and I've been kicking myself for not going for the 250 right at the start....
     
  6. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #6
    If they outperform the current 250GB drives, I'll be picking one up.

    I have a 200GB 7200rpm drive right now, but it chirps sometimes and that bothers me... this new 320GB drive is supposed to be the quietest 5400rpm drive yet, so I'm definitely interested if it's a performer as well.
     
  7. dogtanian macrumors 6502

    dogtanian

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #7
    I'm awaiting my new 250GB for my MBP tomorrow (Was hoping to find it when I came back from work today :mad:). I'm not too bothered by this news as 250GB is enough for me. Size constraint sounds like a worry though... Can't wait to be able to get a 1TB drive in here :D
     
  8. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
  9. fredsherbet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hertford, England
    #9
    oh no! I just bought a 250GB drive, since that was the very largest you could get for a macbook. It arrived today! just backing up my system before i put it in :)

    btw, this drive is 9.5mm and *apparently* will fit, although i haven't tried yet. I'll let you know if it doesn't :)

    EDIT: I can confirm the 9.5mm fits fine :D my macbook is happily filling with oodles of data :p
     
  10. YoMamasPyjamas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Dirty Jersey
    #10
    I just saw this announced yesterday and after moving my entire iTunes library off my 100gb MBP to an external (which sucks whenever I travel), I am eagerly awaiting the chance to get this 320gb beast. According to the WD site, it is out of stock. Has anyone actually picked this up yet? If so, where?
     
  11. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    oh-so tempting.. I was just about to pick up a 250GB.. but for an extra $20 why not go bigger...

    Any other drives on the horizon worth waiting for/comparing to?
     
  12. YoMamasPyjamas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Dirty Jersey
    #12
    anyone pick this puppy up yet?

    also, as far as compatability, i have read some things about how the shock guard feature on this can conflict with that of the MBP, etc. anyone know about this?
     
  13. serdaryilmaztr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #13
    i Just replace my HDD with western digiTAL 320GB 3GB/s 5400RPM but i can not get 3gb/sec ,can you tell me what is the reason please? Did i do something wrong:confused:
    Thank you:
     
  14. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #14
    the drive is SATA3, but your mac, assuming you have a laptop, is only sata1.5.

    you cant do anything, and probably best to post a new question next time :) this one is way old
     
  15. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    You can't get 3GB/s because the read/write rates are only around 50MB/s
     
  16. serdaryilmaztr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008

Share This Page