Why am I always having trouble watching Yahoo News Clip on Safari?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by seasurfer, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. seasurfer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone of you all feel that same way? The clip either can't be played or it get stuck in the middle of an advertisement? Why?....
     
  2. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #2
    No one reply? I realized that I am always having trouble viewing Yahoo News Clip when it is from BBC? Why?
     
  3. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    do you experience same problem with other browsers like firefox?
     
  5. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #5
    Yup...same problem, not only I can't watch. That stupid beach ball came out too.

    Here is one example. I used copy link to copy the link.

    javascript:void(window.open('http://cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/ynews;_ylt=ApuUwNIdhgAa6DyeQhPhj4hvaA8F?ch=4226714&cl=5800099&lang=en','playerWindow','width=793,height=608,scrollbars=no'));

    j
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    lol, if the problem persist across the browser, that might be 1) a internet connection issue. 2) a quicktime problem since qt is the one browsers called

    Is it possible for you to try it out with a different internet environment?

    PS. It works fine in my firefox 3 beta3 pre. Im checking safari 3 now.

    update, safari 3 works fine here as well.
     
  7. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #7

    I think it could be QT problem, but I don't know what is the problem. I used firefox 2.0.11...it didn't work.

    My internet connection is fast.
     
  8. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #8
    Im not familiar with quicktime, so before somebody knowledgeable offers suggestions, here are my 2c
    1. try delete quicktime's pref file
    2. try clear system cache
    3. try update quicktime if you haven't already done so.
     
  9. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #9
    Thanks anyway, I really hope someone can help me.
     
  10. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #10
    You are right, it could be due to internet connection. Despite the fact that I am enjoying high speed here, I can't understand why the news video link I posted here only detected 56Kbps...that is a phone line speed. It seems that all my BBC Video on Yahoo has the same trouble.
     
  11. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    i noticed its faster in firefox. not sure why.
     
  12. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #12
    I have the same slow speed in firefox.
     

Share This Page