Why am I not on wireless AC? I have a late 2013 MBP and an updated Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by theLemur, Nov 24, 2015.

  1. theLemur macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #1
    But it's only connecting at wireless N...

    I'm new to apple airports.. and I don't see a lot of settings that I can tweak..
     
  2. Hilbert92 macrumors member

    Hilbert92

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Which model airport extreme are you using? Make sure you are using and connected to the 5ghz band.
     
  3. theLemur thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #3
    It's an A1521, and I believe it is one that should do AC. I will try forcing it to 5ghz now.
     
  4. theLemur thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #4
    AH, that did it! Well that was an easy fix lol, thank you!
     
  5. Hilbert92 macrumors member

    Hilbert92

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Yea the AC wireless throughput speeds are only on the 5ghz band i believe. Make sure all your devices forget the 2.4ghz band and you shouldn't have any more probelems
     
  6. theLemur thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #6
    Perfect, thanks, I'm getting ready for my fiber install on Friday..woohoo!
     

Share This Page