Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

flori13

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 10, 2015
Hey forum,
Why is some of the button placement on Apple Music and Photos so out of place? I don't get why it is so hard to be consistent with the placements of the heart and share button.. (See https://imgur.com/a/Me8uT)
The order is so inconsistent, it seems to me like these were never thought-trough.

Once I saw it, I could not unsee it.
But hey, maybe I am missing a reason, since I am not a developer. So I'd like to hear your opinion about it.

Last edited:

XTheLancerX

macrumors 68000
Aug 20, 2014
NY, USA
Yeah I've noticed the inconsistency as well, but it hasn't bothered me enough to really look into it like you have. But yeah it feels like it always takes a little searching to find the share sheet button, delete, etc. Pretty annoying. Many discrepancies between iPad and iPhone I feel as well.

LordQ

Suspended
Sep 22, 2012
If you want to talk about discrepancies, just look at Control Centre.

GreyOS

macrumors 68040
Apr 12, 2012
Yeah button consistency and placement is one of those little things that can annoy.

My latest peeve is that the 'My Location' arrow button is on the left hand side of Maps when I feel it should be more easily accessed on the right (like Google Maps). It's more important than the i button.

flori13

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 10, 2015
Well, if there is honestly no intention for this easy to see inconsistency, then it strongly suggests they either:
1. don't know what they are doing.
2. rushed this software and then never bothered to look at this again.
3. or simply didn't care.

For me, this negligence is definitely not 'Apple like', even they always pride themselfs to be perfectionists.
[doublepost=1458036086][/doublepost]
Yeah button consistency and placement is one of those little things that can annoy.