why cant i use ichat to start a video conference with personnel at UAE (Dubai)?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by samuir, May 18, 2008.

  1. samuir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #1
    hi there, i have question regarding on ichat.. im using it to call over to dubai, however we are not able to start a video conference, i did some research on this and mostly recommend to the its port server to 443. initially its does wk but however now seem to have problem with it nw...so could anyone out there help me? thanks alot
     
  2. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #2
    First off, are they using iChat on their end as well? Or do they have a full-fledged videoconferening endpoint (i.e. Polycom, Tandberg, etc.)?

    If the latter, iChat won't work. However there is a piece of software for the Mac called XMeeting that will work just fine.

    Other than this, you should check and see if there are any firewalls between you and the other end that are blocking incoming connections.
     
  3. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I don't know if it's an iChat problem, as I never use the program myself.

    I will say that the UAE government is known to censor/filter Internet traffic, especially when it comes to social networking and similar. Could be they've determined a way to block the video content of your chat, which could otherwise be used to share images and sound with ease?
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    a) Are they a native of the UAE?

    b) Have you tried Skype?
     
  5. samuir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #5
    why cant i use ichat to start a video conference with personnel at UAE (Dubai)?

    hi...thanks for ur reply....yeh both party using ichat and skype dnt seems to wk too...i using OS 10.5.2 Leopard so how i know whether am i block by firewall? coz from my firewall setting, the mode indicated allow all incoming, ...thanks
     
  6. se6git macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #6
    I have similar problems with video and audio within one country (Sweden). The cure seems to be restarting iChat when the other party is online. I think it is a firewall issue. When starting iChat I am asked if iChat can accept calls, which I say yes to but I think it only accepts from those who are online as the program starts. Those who come online after this initial procedure remain blocked by the firewall for video and audio, though not for text.
    This seems to work for me but I make no claims as to the validity of this.
     

Share This Page