Why can't my late 2011 17" MBP use a SATA III SSD in the optical bay?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DelisleBA.info, Mar 12, 2014.

  1. DelisleBA.info macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Location:
    Athens, OH
    #1
    When I first got my late 2011 17" MBP it came with a 750GB 7200RPM drive that I quickly replaced with a 512GB SSD. I removed the optical drive and replaced it with the 750GB factory drive. Last week I bought a 1TB SSD drive and was going to replace the 750GB drive with it.

    However it appears that the optical bay sata slot does not support sata iii even though it is listed as such. I keep getting disk needs initialized but when I try to format it I get the message. "Disk erase failed with the error: Wiping volume data to prevent future accidental probing failed."

    Anybody got a solution?
    Can I force my mac to only use SATA II mode on the optical bay?

    Thanks in advance for the support.

    SPECS:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 16 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP81.0047.B27
    SMC Version (system): 1.70f6
    OS: 10.9.2
     
  2. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Well known problem. While the optical bay can handle a sata III HDD, it won't work with a SSD. No way to degrade the interface to sata II. Only option is to buy a sata II SSD, available from OWC, and install it. If you're just looking for disk space you could move the 1 TB drive to the main bay and keep your original drive in the optical.
     
  3. jorgk macrumors member

    jorgk

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #3
    See here:
     
  4. DelisleBA.info thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Location:
    Athens, OH
    #4
    @jorgk,

    Thanks for the links. Seems like a bit much. Guess i might just install a blu-ray drive.
     

Share This Page