Why do I need to go to airplane mode for wifi to work?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bhigh8, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. bhigh8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #1
    Seems to be happening more and more. I am at home using wifi and I switch to an app and its timing out. I go to airplane mode and switch right back to wifi and it works.

    Is this common? Does this happen to everyone else. I never used to do it. Now a couple times a day.
     
  2. iHelios macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #2
    This will happen to me sometimes when I'm in a 4G area but the phone only picks up EDGE. Jumping in and out of airplane mode gets me back on 4G.
     
  3. darster Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #3
    That's not common. Try rebooting your router first. If that doesn't solve it, Reset network settings on phone. if that doesn't work, restore your iphone through itunes. If that fails, return the phone for a replacement.
     
  4. bhigh8 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #4
    My wife's iPhone 4 does it also. I'm thinking its my wifi. How can I tell? I have a pretty good signal strength. My speeds are atrocious though.

    I just did a restore today on my phone and still had to go to airplane mode once.
     
  5. emuyshondt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #5
    You are essentially turning the WiFi radio off and back on, causing your phone to log back into the network. Perhaps your router has a problem and is dropping the connection. Even if your phone has good signal strength, it may not actually be fully logged into the network.

    - Do you have other WiFi devices at home that have this problem?
    - Does your phone have a problem when connected to WiFi outside your home?

    It may not be your phone that has the problem.
     
  6. darster Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #6
    Some of the older routers only allow 3 to 5 devices on at one time.
     
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    The iOS WiFi driver is less than perfect. I've always had grief with the HotSpot till a reboot.
     
  8. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #8
    With laptops, if you have too many "preferred" networks, the thing gets confused. Fix: Delete hotspots you haven't used for a while, and only leave the 1-2 u use everyday.
     
  9. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #9
    Hmm sounds like there is a problem with your phone.
     

Share This Page