Why do you use Mail/iCal instead of just google/yahoo/hotmail??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jeremy6044, Dec 5, 2007.

1. jeremy6044 macrumors regular

so i'm new to macs and i'm a little overwhelmed with all my choices here: principally, whether to use mac applications or just web based solutions. i like the idea of using mac applications for their integration, but does it really make a difference?

2. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

Because web based solutions are generally inferior. I keep Mail open all the time checking my 3 POP e-mail accounts and my Gmail account every 5 minutes for new e-mail. Name me one web based service that can do that and offers the power of Spotlight searching my e-mail.

3. jeremy6044 thread starter macrumors regular

by the way, these are the advantages and disadvantages as i see them so far:

yahoo (my current email):
    +don't have to give all my friends, family and businesses and services a new email
    + easy to use interface
    + calendar scroll on the bottom
    - no desktop or dashboard indicator/widget to show if i have new mail. really annoying!
    - no imap, so even if i upgrade to yahoo plus and pay to download to mac mail, it won't sync on the servers
    - no calendar sync with ical (but maybe it will be when they redo the calendar)
    - no yahoo mail functionality in safari! what's that about?!

switch to google:
    + imap (if i want to use mac mail)
    + notifier & widget (if i don't want to use mac mail)
    + sync with ical
    - have to give everyone a new address

using mac mail with a web based service:
    - syncing issues that arise from using services from different companies: