Why does 16GB Ram not come standard in 13” MBP? Help me choose.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Terminator123, Jul 21, 2019.

  1. Terminator123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    #1
    I need to get a computer for my new job where I will be running multiple web application including Slack, salesforce, Google Products, PDF, Dropbox etc....

    Since I am starting next week I pretty much need the laptop ASAP.

    Unfortunately Apple only offers the MacBook Air and the 2.4GHZ MBP 13” available for pickup in store today.

    I would prefer to get 16GB Ram and save some Money getting the 1.4GHZ MBP. Unfortunately that’s a special order and wont arrive until August 1st which is not acceptable in my situation.

    Do you think the 8GB Ram with the 2.4ghz MBP is enough for my use case? What about the Air with 16GB 512 GB SSD as an alternative?

    This laptop needs to last 3 years at which point I can get a replacement through my company.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. pshifrin macrumors 6502

    pshifrin

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #2
    They do sell 1 stock configuration in stores in the 13 inch size with 16gb of ram. It's the i7 2.8 / 16gb / 1TB of storage model. $2699.

    Edit: There is also a MacBook Air with 16gb or ram: 16/512. In 15 inch, they stock (in addition to the 2 base models) 2.4/32/1TB/560x and 2.4/32/1TB/V20
     
  3. Terminator123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    #3
    Unfortunately $2699 is out of my budget, also don‘t need the 1TB storage. 512GB is enough.

    I am considering the MacBook Air with 16/512 configuration. But I am worried about the CPU performance.

    As of now it‘s between these two:
    MBP 2.4GHZ/8GB Ram/512GB
    MBA 1.6GHZ/16GB Ram/512GB

    I guess it comes down to faster CPU vs more Ram.

    Not sure though which is better in my use case.
     
  4. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
  5. juan985_Spain macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2019
  6. Stephen.R macrumors 65816

    Stephen.R

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Location:
    Thailand
    #6
    I have a 6-core desktop i7 and 64GB of ram.

    I still get the “close this tab to improve performance” warning on slack. They’re just incapable of writing a chat app that isn’t ****, apparently. It’s actually kind of astounding how bad it is given how many times chat clients have been reinvented over the last 25 years or so.

    I would definitely prioritise memory over cpu.
     
  7. Terminator123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2019
    #7

    So MBA with 16gb over mbp with 8gb
     
  8. alias99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
  9. xb2003 macrumors 6502

    xb2003

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Location:
    MO
    #9
    Browsers are memory hungry, but based on what you described, you really don't NEED 16GB of RAM.

    Please. Please. Don't upgrade the 2TB3 model to the 1.7GHz i7. There is no point. And at that, don't go to the 4TB3 model for the higher CPU clock. Look up videos comparing the two. Look up benchmarks. The CPUs have a variable clock speed, and the cooling on the 2TB3 model is sufficient enough to sustain a much higher clock than 1.4GHz. In most cases, the difference between the 1.4GHz i5 on the 2TB3 model and the 2.4GHz i5 on the 4TB3 model are in the neighborhood of 5%. Not just in synthetics, but in real workloads like video export as well. They are both Intel U series CPUs, and the lower TDP of the 2TB3 model is artificial and is in no way a hard limit in performance.

    There are advantages to the 4TB3 model, but CPU performance being a touch higher is more of an "added benefit" of buying the model with better WLAN, faster SSD, and more throughput potential (the 4TB3 model) than it is a reason to upgrade.
     
  10. pshufd macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #10
    I left my 15 inch MacBook Pros at home and unexpectedly went into the office today so I'm using my work-issued 2015 13 inch MacBook Pro and it's maxed out except for the SSD. It runs just fine for work but 16 GB is definitely to be preferred. I'm only running Firefox but memory used is 6.5 GB. Sure, it can page and swap but it would be better if it didn't have to.

    You could look at local shops for older models with 16 GB. That may save you some money and still give you enough RAM and performance.
     
  11. mroy16 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    #11
    I have 8GB on my 2016 13" and run several applications and 1-2 browsers all the time. I never have memory issues, even if a webpage gets a warning that it's using a lot of memory. If I check in the Activity Monitor, the memory pressure is always just fine, even if most of the 8GB are being used. I'm confident that 8GB will be just fine for your use.
     
  12. kp98077 macrumors 6502a

    kp98077

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #12
    for what you described I wouldn't use an Air, I think the 2019 2.4 MacBook Air with 500 wold be perfect 8gb, I use mine for work no issues whatsoever ever! and its on sale at Best Buy 200 off!!
     
  13. marclondon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Browsers are memory hogs so if web apps are your thing I would get a minimum of 16GB. On an i7 Mac Mini 8GB is certainly not enough for me so I've put in 32GB but you can't upgrade a MBP.

    I returned a 13 inch MBP with 16GB because I really didn't like the keyboard but it was fine in all other respects.
     
  14. maerz001 macrumors 65816

    maerz001

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #14
    If u have enough money upfront order one with 16. Until it shows up u can get a 8GB in store and give it back 14days later
     
  15. ghanwani macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #15
    Isn't this one a CTO model as well?
     

Share This Page

14 July 21, 2019