Why Gruber and author of "Moore's law and iPad-sized retina displays" are wrong

Discussion in 'iPad' started by samiznaetekto, Jan 19, 2011.

1. samiznaetekto macrumors 65816

http://daringfireball.net/linked/2011/01/19/moores-law-retina-display

http://apenwarr.ca/log/?m=201101#19

Here's why this guy's argument is wrong. (which may possibly be not surprising at all as though he mentions that "I have some actual knowledge (from a brief foray into working at a semiconductor company, some time ago)", he doesn't say in what capacity he worked at that semiconductor company. He might have worked as a janitor.)

Since when Moore's law applied to displays?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moore's_law

"The capabilities of many digital electronic devices are strongly linked to Moore's law: processing speed, memory capacity, sensors and even the number and size of pixels in digital cameras."

CPUs, memory, digital cameras - but NOT mainstream DISPLAYS! For many years, 0.28mm pitch (~90dpi) remained standard, some more expensive monitors then had 0.25 or 0.22mm pitch (115dpi), iMac 27" still has 0.23mm pitch, MacBook Air 11.6" 2010's display has the smallest pixels of all Apple computers - 0.19mm.

So in the last 15 years or so, pixel density for mainstream displays hasn't changed much. While if you believe this semiconductor janitor and his "Display Moore's Law", pixels would have shrunk from 0.28mm to about 0.0085mm since then (15 years divided by 1.5 doubling cycle = 10 cycles, so Moore's factor is 2^10 = 1024, so linear pixel density factor is then about 33x) and we all are now sitting in front of our beautiful 26,400x19,800 displays (and that's starting from modest 800x600 display, times 33).