Why I was disappointed in the SS model but not the Apple Watch

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by durangojim, Apr 10, 2015.

1. durangojim macrumors member

A little bit about me. I'm a watch guy. I have ever since I was a little kid and was fascinated by my dad's watch with a sweeping second hand, and windows for the date and day. Fast forward 20 years to when I bought my first fine time piece - an Omega Seamaster professional with a quartz movement. Later on in the late 90s I graduated to a Panerai, then Rolex, and a number of high end watches that I bought and sold, but the Panerais and Rolexes were the constants.
    I wasn't looking to replace any of my timepieces with the Apple Watch. Rather I wanted to supplement them by wearing the Apple Watch at work and using it to stay in contact with my friends and family in that environment. I like to keep my phone on my desk and not in my pocket while I'm doing my work around my office, but that means I have to go back to my office to check my phone often or I'm out of touch, so the Apple Watch and a connection through wifi would be perfect for me.