Why is my late 2014 5k iMac so slow all of the sudden?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SCMedic, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. SCMedic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #1
    I've thought of just about everything, and can't figure out for the life of me why this thing seems to have slowed to a crawl. Boot up takes forever, and that's with minimized startup items. Launching any Adobe product takes ages. Safari takes ages to launch. The whole thing should be light years faster than it is. Any suggestions?

    iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
    3.5 GHz Intel Core i5
    24 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    AMD Radeon R9 M290X 2048 MB

    All media is external raid drive. Fusion drive is split into two with apps on the SSD.

    I'm lost and annoyed.
     
  2. KarlnHarrison macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    #2
    I'm trying to do IT support for the very same model with a 3Tb Fusion drive.

    I have erased and started afresh twice now and when restoring data the drive transfer speed drops like a stone when it goes past the SSD size from 300Mb/sec to 5Mb/sec - this is too slow, and I have just restored 150Gb and the iMac now takes ages to boot and start any kind of App or open files.

    I'll make a warranty call shorty to resolve this - google tells me there are recalls on previous generation Fusion 3Tb drives models.
     
  3. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #3
    Make a backup and try to restore Fusion drive.
     
  4. SCMedic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    Everything I've read says a clean install doesn't fix underlying issues. Thoughts?
     
  5. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #5
    Did you start to have problems after an update?
     
  6. briloronmacrumo macrumors 6502

    briloronmacrumo

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    The usual diagnostic steps including the following are a good place to start:
    1. Checking the console log ( with Console.app ) for messages
    2. Checking the Fusion drive with a SMART utility to see if the HDD portion of the Fusion has an issue
    3. Checking the CoreStorage Volumes ( which is what Fusion is ) using diskutil in Terminal.app ( starting with 'diskutil list' )
    4. Running the appropriate version of Onyx ( free ) to do all the usual cache cleanup
    5. Running EtreCheck ( free ) to see if unwanted background daemons/launch agents are running. The output is suitable for posting to a list like MR.
    One of those should provide clues to pursue. Good luck.
    Brian
     
  7. M3Jedi77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #7
    I have the same iMac and same issue! It's unbelievably slow, I can barely use it...
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    Didn't some of the iMacs with the 3tb fusion drives have a problem with the HDD?

    OP:
    Can you boot into safe mode?
    Can you boot from an external bootable drive?
     
  9. zhaoxin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #9
    I would like to point out that iMac 5K 2014 late uses ddr3 1600 RAM instead of 1333. I hope this was just your type error.

    Also, if you can, try to boot from a usb ssd. If that is fast. it means you inner disks are slow.
     
  10. uller6 macrumors member

    uller6

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    #10
    The same thing happened to my 5k 2014. I opened up the screen with a guitar pick, removed the hard drive and replaced it with a crucial SSD. Problem solved - the machine is now silent and fast!
     
  11. M3Jedi77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #11
    Very tempting... I'd hate to go through all that trouble only to have the new iMac come out in 3 months though. Don't you need a whole kit to open and close the 2014 imac properly?
     
  12. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    The original poster said that they had split the Fusion drive, so they are effectively running from an SSD already.
     
  13. bplein macrumors 6502

    bplein

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX USA
    #13
    So did you install the OS and apps to the SSD as "Macintosh HD" and then use the HDD standalone? I think that's what you are saying but want to make sure.

    Or did you install the OS to the HDD and just put "Applications" on SSD.

    Thanks in advance
     
  14. tyche macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #14
    Run BlackMagic or another disk speed test and see what your results are. This will show if your drive is actually the issue.
     
  15. SCMedic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #15
    I did, but now I'm running into the "your running out of disk space issue" since the OS/apps are on the SSD. What stuff, and how, can I move to the HDD safely?
     
  16. bplein macrumors 6502

    bplein

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX USA
    #16
    How big is your SSD?

    You should probably try to keep the base OS and Applications on the local boot SSD. In a clean install, all that is on the boot drive (visible in a default mode) is:
    • Applications (where most installed apps land)
    • Library (where binaries supporting the OS and Apps land, also can include some application data)
    • System (OS)
    • Users (your home directory and if you share the system with another user, theirs too)
    Assuming you want your base OS and Apps on fast SSD, that leaves parts of your home directory to move, and that likely contains all of the media you've ever downloaded or created.

    • iTunes Media (music, TV, movies, etc.)
    • "Documents" folder (could contain about anything)
    • "Downloads" folder (many people let this pile up forever)
    • "Pictures" folder (if you take lots of pictures, this can get big)
    • Data in things like Dropbox
    You can move your ITunes media... google it. Here's one example but there are several out there: http://www.imore.com/how-move-your-itunes-library-external-hard-drive . Media like this doesn't need to be on SSD.

    You can also move your entire home directory to the HDD... this may may or may not be what you want. Parts of this Apple article cover moving it. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201548 If you aren't comfortable at a command line, you may not want to attempt to do that.

    You can also move whole folders and use symlinks but those can lead to problems for people who don't understand UN*X, they can end up really screwing up a system (the symlinks don't, but incorrect use of them can!)
     

Share This Page