Why is my MBP 15" seem mores slower than MBP 13?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wubbie412, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. wubbie412 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #1
    I bought a MBP 15" (the I5 2.4ghz model) and after messing around with it today, i realized that my new 15" isn't as responsive - or at least feel fast - as the 13MBP (core2duo 2.4ghz model).

    is there a technical reason why i feel this way about the 15"? is it because the screen is bigger?

    i post this question bc i thought the 15inch would definitely perform a lot better than the 13inch model given the new updated specs.

    hmm... is there something wrong with my new 15"MBP?

    thanks.:confused:
     
  2. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    to actually see if its slower do some benchmark tests
     
  3. Lyshen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #3
    As previous poster (AdamRock) says, do some benchmarks.

    Also, what are you doing that seems to be slower?
     
  4. wubbie412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #4
    thanks for the quick response.
    how do you run a bench mark test?

    thank you.
     
  5. bamf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #5
    Did the 13" have a SSD in it? That's really the only way that it would be faster than the 15" i5 (or at least seem "quicker").
     
  6. circularforward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #6
    I had the 2.26 macbook and upgraded to the mbp 15 i7. The macbook had a 7200rpm 7k500 and 4gb ram, whereas I have kept the stock 5400rpm hdd in the mbp. In many common everyday tasks, I notice no difference between the two machines because the 7k500 performed so well. But when I run CPU or GPU intensive apps such as HandBrake or other video apps, the difference is VERY noticeable.
     
  7. bamf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7
    Ya, the hard drive makes a difference in the "feel" of the machine in tasks like launching programs. That's why I was asking about the SSD.

    Can you give us the full specs of both machines please?
     
  8. wubbie412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #8
    Macbookpro 13"
    MacBook Pro, 13-inch, aluminum, Intel Core 2 Duo (2.4 GHz), 4 gigabytes RAM, 250 gigabyte hard drive, SD card slot, built-in battery, NVIDIA GeGorce 320M graphics, SuperDrive, 1 year warranty



    Macbookpro 15"
    MacBook Pro, 15-inch, aluminum, Intel Core i5 (2.4 GHz), 4 gigabytes RAM, 320 gigabyte hard drive, SD card slot, built-in battery, NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M (256 meg) graphics, SuperDrive, 1 year warranty


    Both were bought at the apple store so i didnt get to customize them. so i have their normal stock models.
     
  9. oplix macrumors 65816

    oplix

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #9
    It could be because the 13MBP uses the 320M chip ALL the time while the 15MBP uses integrated graphics while out of applications that require lots of graphic processing.
     
  10. yishiang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #10
    Not as responsive in what sense?
     
  11. wubbie412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #11
    like when i click on a icon in the dock, it's slower than the 13" when it's trying to load the application...

    also like when i try to drag the files, there's a slight lag sometimes in the way my cursor moves and stuff..

    it just seems less put together..

    would it be becasue of the 5400rpm hdd? im thinking about upgrading the harddrive to either 7200 or SDD..
     
  12. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #12
    It might be to your benefit to just reinstall the OS. You may have gotten a bad factory image.
     
  13. bamf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #13
    The SSD will make both machines look like turtles to your proverbial hare of a MBP/SSD combination.

    This is worth a shot too. At least it's free to do... :)
     

Share This Page