Why no BTO option for doubling of VRAM on $1,499 and $1,799 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Ice Dragon, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #1
    It seems silly to ask though I was reading that the Kepler architecture can handle 2 GB of video memory in all of the cards. I understand only allowing 2 GB in the top model iMac but why not at least 1 GB in the higher-end 21.5" and 1 GB in the low-end 27" for the 650M and 660M respectively?

    Curious on MRf's thoughts?
     
  2. Ryan.Tanner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #2
    It is so you pay extra for the top of the line model if graphics are important to you.
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    Apple has a history of not allowing lots of upgrades via BTO on the low end models. shame but it is working for their bottom line.
     
  4. ericbreiter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #4
    This is classic pricing strategy at work pushing people to go with a higher specification. It is the same thing when ordering a car, to get certain options or standard features you need to go up one trim level.
     
  5. Apple souce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    yeah its kind of a bummer. We are at the end of 2012 and 512 mb vram is meh:(
     
  6. Ice Dragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #6
    Well yes but for budget minded customers who want to save a few hundred bucks, why not?
     
  7. CaptMike macrumors regular

    CaptMike

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #7
    "Why no BTO option for doubling of VRAM on $1,499 and $1,799 iMac?"

    Because apple wants to corner the consumer getting the top of the line 27" imac.
     
  8. Ryan.Tanner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #8
    Because budget-minded folks shouldn't be looking for a piece of top-of-the-line hardware in Apple's eyes. At least that's my opinion.
     
  9. Ice Dragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #9
    Well and I agree to a point but here's the thing and this is why I keep debating you guys.

    Kepler can handle 2 GB of memory for all cards. I don't expect 2 GB for mediocre cards and I know some OEMs do that which is terrible.

    I just don't get why they don't have a 512 to 1 GB option as they have a 1 GB to 2 GB option on the ultimate. I understand profit margins to a point and if I'm buying an iMac I would want the ultimate.

    As another example, they offer the 1 TB Fusion Drive and the SSD in the quad-core Mac mini and they offer the 1 TB Fusion drive in the 21.5" iMac. They don't offer the 3 TB Fusion or the 768 GB Flash nor do I expect them to.

    Sorry if I have too high of expectations : P
     
  10. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #10
    actually you don't but business is business and oh well.

    so to me the 21 inch iMac should have a gamer option. a 256 gb ssd and the 680mx gpu 2gb ddr5 ram.

    and with 8gb ram ddr3 .

    and windows pre installed as bootcamp and a good quad the i5 3570 xx which is a non existent cpu basically the same as the i5 3570k but oc'd to 4.0 .

    this is a fantasy machine that Apple will never build as apple does not cater to the gamer.

    the only way you can do this is build a hackintosh. too bad,
     
  11. Ice Dragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #11
    lol.

    Nah then I'd be expecting way too much from Apple. I just want a few more BTO options.
     

Share This Page