Why not Macbook air 2011?

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by Retromac2008, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. Retromac2008 macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #1
    is intel hd 3000 the problem?

    (Macbook air 2012 is instead supported)
     
  2. BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #2
    I basically have the same question. I tried 2 things. Installed Mojave on a VM on a VMware Fusion. Works on the MB Air Mid 2011, but awfully slow. 2nd option was installing on a USB thumb drive to boot from it from a supported Mac Mini 2012. I got it to work from the same MacMini. But when I tried to boot from the USB on my MBAir mid 2011, it DOES NOT work. Bummer!

    So my next option is to wait for Dosdude1's patcher app.

    Danno
     
  3. dogslobber macrumors 68040

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #3
    You can copy the supported platform plist from HS to get it to boot. I did that on my iMac 2011 but it uses the basic fb for video by looks of it. Very slow.
     
  4. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #4
    ok, but why ?

    i m ok with it, but i genuinely want to know the HW reason.

    what s the problem with sandy bridge ? intel hd 3000 ?
     
  5. Reverend Benny macrumors member

    Reverend Benny

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    ID say HD3000, its not a great GPU, the 4000 that followed seem to be a good bit better.
    But as I see it, there is no need to get Mojave, High Sierra will be supported for years to come.
     
  6. Expobill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    #6
    THe powers that be at Apple has a plan by eliminating service on our “old” MacBooks we sheepingly purchase new laptops so they can buy more Yatchs and other riches.
     
  7. windywalks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #7
    I have an 11" MBA from 2011 which coughs up blood while trying to keep up. It only has 2 GB of RAM mind you, so it doesn't come to me as a surprise it can't keep up. It has become unusable lately. It's a computer my mother uses for office work and she has almost completely shifted to her 12.9" iPad Pro for everything, she even decided to use Pages on the iPad for document editing since the printer at the office supports AirPrint.
     
  8. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #8
    the only problem is your ram. High sierra is just perfect on any 2011 mba with 4gb ram. (and i have new macs for comparison)

    with 2gb you should install an older os
     
  9. windywalks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #9
    Yeah, I figured as much. The processor and iGPU can handle the OS well enough. But the reason Apple doesn't offer Mojave for these systems has to do with the fact that some of them were still offered with 2GB of ram as standard whereas further down the line the 2GB configuration was eschewed for 4GB across the line.
    And of course the 3000HD doesn't support Metal, but that's a whole different animal.
     
  10. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #10
    true, they shipped mbas with 4gb min from 2012.

    could be a reason
     
  11. smokesletsgo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #11
    top reason is HD3000, which doesn't support Metal. But they could've left OpenGL support, no real changes to the macOS UI anyway... Well, we have some people working on enabling OpenGL, maybe it will be a success and you'll be able to use Mojave on HD3000 which shouldn't perform any worse than on High Sierra tbh.
     
  12. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #12
    np, i ll just leave this mba on high Sierra forever :)

    it s going to be fast forever and fully supported for a lot of years :)
    and doesn t bother me for updates every month (no restarts) !


    i m just curious about the hw reason, not complaining
     
  13. FNH15 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    #13
    The HD3000 does not support the instruction set for Metal. Apple is deprecating OpenGL support, and the tentpole feature of UIKit apps on MacOS only works with Metal apps, so that's why they've dropped support. My iMac is in the same boat as your MBA, so I get wanting to know. :)
     
  14. BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #14
    As for the MBAir mid 2011, I love the portability of the 13" model I have. It's on High Sierra and works fine for me. Only limitation is I do not like is that the ram (came with 4GB) is not upgradeable. I wish to transition this to Mojave, but as of now, it's not compatible.

    Regards.
     

Share This Page