Why, oh why hasn't El Capitan fixed Mac's most infamous WiFi issue after all these years!!!

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Goldfrapp, Jun 27, 2015.

  1. Goldfrapp, Jun 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2015

    Goldfrapp macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #1
    Issue: WiFi does not auto-reconnect on wake.

    I'm not sure whether it's a software or a hardware issue, but it has persisted on my 2014 and 2015 MBPs running Yosemite, and still does in El Capitan. Mind you, my mid-2011 MBA has no such issue. It auto-reconnects just fine. What gives?

    I was really hoping that El Capitan would fix it, even though it's still in beta.

    Is anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  3. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #3
    Is that your current hardware in your sig?
     
  4. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I don't have the issue either on any of the Macs in our house. 3x 2011 MBPs, 1x 2010 iMac, 1x 2014 rMBP.
     
  5. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #5
    I can't be the only one. :(
     
  6. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    Some of yes
     
  7. ABC5S macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
  8. Goldfrapp, Jun 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2015

    Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #8
    Are everyone's Energy Saver settings set to default?
     
  9. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #9
    Not sure what you mean by there, there are a lot of settings in Energy Saver. Do you mean "Wake for network access"? I have it on both Macs as well as "Power Nap".

    I have zero problems on either '12 rMBP 15" and iMac 5K with the Wi-Fi on El Cap, no wake up for sleep issue either, it woke up and was connected right away.

    Is El Cap an upgrade to Yosemite on all of your problematic Macs? If yes, try doing a clean install on one of them to see if it would fix it. Upgrading doesn't reset all settings to factory settings and it is possible some of your files are just not set correctly.
     
  10. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #10
    Yes, both Macs have clean installs of El Capitan. And both Macs had the same issue in Yosemite out of the box.

    By the way, these are Mac's default Energy Saver settings:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  11. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #11
    Yea, I have zero problems with these default settings on all of my Macs.

    Maybe try turning off 5Ghz radio on your router, see if it is more stable in general. I've seen quite a bit of people mentioned this before.
     
  12. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #12
    I always wondered about this since I haven't had any issues with the devices listed (on Yosemite): Mid 2007 iMac, Late 2008 MacBook, Early 2009 MacBook, Mid 2009 13" MBP, Mid 2010 15" MBP, and my Late 2013 13" rMBP.

    BUT, I took delivery of a brand new 2015 MacBook Air two weeks ago, i5/8GB/256GB with Yosemite preinstalled (10.10.3) (everything else was upgrade or clean install) and it doesn't connect about 90% of the time. So I have to toggle it off and on to get it to connect again. So this is an issue, but it doesn't seem to show up on every device. But for one that has been doing it since I took it out of the box with zero software installed by me I will say that it can and does happen. I have seen it a few times on my rMBP and the 2009 MBP intermittently. But not nearly as often as this MBA.

    I do remember this happening on the Yosemite DP and betas and even up to the final release in which I went back to Mavericks on my rMBP until a couple months back when the .3 update came out and I went ahead and upgraded. Our iMac won't stay asleep since the update with no other changes too, but I don't think that's related and I'm wiping it when El Cap comes out anyway. The thing has been upgraded every release since Tiger!

    So yeah, it does happen, just not on every Mac.

    Oh, and it does this on all networks, not just some. I've got an AirPort Extreme at my parents house, a crappy AT&T modem/gateway/router deal at the place I'm renting, an enterprise class UniFi AP network at work that I've been setting up along with a few AirPort Expresses in adjacent buildings and the MacBook Air doesn't reconnect to any of them after waking from sleep. Sometimes it will, but only if it's been asleep for a short moment or hasn't left the building. This is a mix of 802.11g, n at 2.4GHz and 5GHz. So that doesn't seem to matter either.
     
  13. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    Sounds like a router configuration issue or an incompatibility problem perhaps. My wifi reconnects perfectly on all my devices.
     
  14. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    Take it back and exchange it. Probably a faulty wifi chip.
     
  15. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #15
    This is exactly the issue I'm having. My old mid-2011 MBA auto-reconnects to WiFi without a problem. However, my two MBPs from mid-2014 and mid-2015 fail to auto-reconnect about 90% of the time.
     
  16. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #16
    I don't believe that's the case. If it were faulty, WiFi wouldn't work at all.
     
  17. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #17
    Well no thats not true, you can have a faulty chip that still works in some capacity. Think about it, if your wifi chip is fine, and i know the OS isnt the issue (mine works fine on all devices) then what else could it even be......
     
  18. brosenz macrumors regular

    brosenz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
  19. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #19
    Thats because people with faulty wifi chips are mistakenly thinking its an OS bug.
     
  20. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #20
    Then why don't we hear more about the faulty WiFi chips? Surely, can't be just 2 people.
     
  21. adrianlondon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #21
    I doubt there are that many faulty chips.

    I bought my (first ever) macbook towards the end of 2013; came with Mavericks. Had no wifi issues. Upgraded to Yosemite - no wifi issues. One release of Yosemite (10.10.2 I think?) gave me those wifi issues of it not connecting after resume from sleep, or sometimes on boot. Upgrading to 10.10.3 and 10.10.4 fixed it, and now still no issues on 10.11. In all that time I didn't change any hardware at all - so it's been the same router/modem the entire time.

    So people who are having problems now, I believe it's a software issue. On El Capitan (or 10.10.4) it's not a discoveryd issue though. I'd suggest trying a different wifi router. FWIW I use a 5GHz network.
     
  22. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #22
    Im not sure, i have not heard to many people that are having your issue. All i know is its not an OS bug, which leaves the wifi chip or router incompatibility issues.
     
  23. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #23
    Thats seems like a different issue altogether. Ive upgraded though all the versions of Yosemite on my 3 personal machines and 6 machines at work and none of them gave me wifi issues you explain. Actually the one other thing it could be is driver issues for the specific wifi chip in your machine.
     
  24. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #24
    You know what, I think I'll install a copy of Windows 8.1 or 10 and see what happens. If it works 100% of the time there I think the only thing to blame would be a bug in OS X.

    And I don't think its a router issue if it does it with multiple routers and access points of different brands and using different bands and frequencies.

    And Yosemite (and OS X for that matter) is kind of famous for WiFi issues as it is. As seen here, here, here, and here with many replies.

    Off to install Windows...
     
  25. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #25
    Thats not going to help your issue but feel free to waste your time doing so. Have you tried some of the suggestions in the links you posted? I do recall having to move bluetooth below wifi in service order to fix a wifi issue a few years ago.
     

Share This Page