Why people say iPad 2 won't read bar code because the camera has no auto-focus?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by matrix07, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. matrix07, Mar 14, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011

    matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I've read it here a lot lately. IPad 2 is useless because camera is so crappy. It can't scan bar code because it can't auto-focus. For example, a post by this fool:
    Idk maybe in Android world if the camera has no auto-focus then it can't scan bar code but i scanned 600 DVDs to make movie database in an hour using iPod Touch, the device all the reviewers claimed has the same camera as iPad 2.
    So what is the problem scanning bar code again? Anyone who claimed this numerous times here care to explain to me?


    Post on my iPod Touch btw.
     
  2. fertilized-egg macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #2
    It's definitely possible to read barcodes without AF but it's heck of a lot easier if you have AF. I have the iPod Touch, an Android with AF and an Android without AF, and having AF makes a big difference.
     
  3. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    iPad 2 can read barcodes. It's just a little harder than on an iPhone because the camera can't focus. But it should be able to read barcodes just fine.
     
  4. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Deleted.
     
  5. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    It took only a few second to scan. How much easier than that can it be?
     
  6. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Again from my experience it took about a few seconds to scan so how much easier can it be?
    I know AF can make thing better but i never scan bar code and think i want this to have AF.
     
  7. fertilized-egg macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #7
    Beside being slower, some barcodes are too small to be read by the AF-less camera of the iPod Touch and won't get read at all while some are just small enough that you have to fiddle with the distance between the camera and the barcodes. Also in low light, the added noise can affect the reading performance so sometimes you have to add some extra light to make it work.

    I forgot to add that the iPod Touch's camera is also a lot pickier about the barcode reading software. Some programs cannot read anything.
     
  8. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    600 bar codes without any problems. Zilch. Nada.

    This is from real world experience. Not only it's fast, it's reliable. Try again.
     
  9. fertilized-egg macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #9
    Same here. I got the iPod Touch 4th gen on its launch day and have tried all sorts of barcodes in the past 7 months. I think there are discussions of this in the iPod Touch forum which detail which program works better for the iPod Touch camera.

    Again, I have tried all of the iPod Touch, the iPhone, an Android with AF and an Android without AF, so I can speak from my own experience. Having AF makes everything a bit quicker and easier, especially with smaller barcodes that just cannot be read by the iPod Touch's camera.
     
  10. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I don't yet experience small bar code like you say. But what i take issue the most is someone claimming it can't read bar code at all simply because the camera has no AF.
    And again "a bit quicker and easier" is far from making iPad 2 "useless" like some Android fanboys claimed.
     
  11. Scott6666 macrumors 65816

    Scott6666

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #11
    Well, it's good to know your experience. I had assumed that without AF it would not read barcodes (well) so I was planning to use Honeycomb for some inhouse industrial apps. I will reinvestigate. Guess I'll just have to buy one for me on the work credit card to try it out :D
     
  12. joe1946 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #12
    My 64GB iPod Touch 4G has no problems reading barcodes.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DeVAjrrTgHg
     
  13. nixiemaiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Daytona Beach
    #13
    How is it with reading curved bar codes like on a tub of yogurt or a bottled beverage?

    I know on these things, the auto focus on my phone goes crazy trying to get the bar codes so I'm curious.
     
  14. fertilized-egg macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #14
    Indeed, pic2shop is way to go. I found an old thread I've participated back in September regarding this issue where I mention pic2shop as the program of choice :)
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1012946&page=2

    At that point from my recollection pic2shop was the only one among the bunch that'd work reliably so I haven't looked at others since. Has the situation changed recently?
     
  15. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yet to try something like that. Maybe tomorrow :)
     
  16. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I used 2 movie database apps and both are equally good.
     
  17. Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #17
    I just got an iPod 4 a week ago and started playing with this kind of software. I scanned the barcode on a Dr. Pepper can no problems at all...Not to mention several other things.
     
  18. ovrlrd macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #18
    Yeah no reason to need autofocus, but it is always good to have.

    For OCR on the other hand, the camera is useless.
     
  19. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #19
    Read this with RedLaser. 2 inches diameter. No problem. Took a couple of secs.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. biosci macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Location:
    Chicagoland, IL
    #20
    Played with an ipad2 today and the camera app had touch to focus....
     
  21. hi res macrumors member

    hi res

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Outer Burbs, IL
    #21
    I'm general manager at a very busy restaurant and I use my iPad to redeem our GroupOn offers with regularity...it works so well I only need to get the barcode in the relative vicinity of the iPad for it to go through. Plus, it's garnered a lot of inquiries lately...
     
  22. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #22
    It doesn't actually focus when you tap, just changes the white balance.
     
  23. Cyberheart macrumors member

    Cyberheart

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Location:
    Cyberspace
    #23
    You can always wait for Ipad 3 LOLZ
     
  24. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #24
    It's because certain scanner apps require an AF camera. Thats all it comes down to.

    I have one on my Touch that doesn't, and it works fine. It really comes down to the requirement of a given app
     
  25. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #25
    You're absolutely right. Not that it can't but some apps are just retard, like Barcode Reader for example.
     

Share This Page