Why would a 3g have more bars than a 1st gen in a NON-3g area?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JennaLDS, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. JennaLDS macrumors 6502

    JennaLDS

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Utah!
    #1
    I have searched for this, and came up with nothing.. At my house, I have anywhere from 0-2 bars with my 1st generation, and my friend has 3+ bars with her 3g. We are in a NON 3G area.. I have called Apple and AT&T and the only way to fix the problem is to buy a new phone with an out of warranty price.. (Cant upgrade for a while) Can anyone possibly explain this?

    If you have rude comments, please do everyone a favor and keep them to yourself..
     
  2. pisces03x macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    2G service and 3G service are entirely different. Both use different signal interfaces and require each their own separate hardware at the Cell site. You might be receiving poor 2G service because either:

    a. Too many people use the 2G interface (aka 2G dumbphones or other 2G handsets) and it saturates the cell site and thus gives poor performance.

    b. 2G service is poorly maintained or not given enough priority as many customers embrace/use a 3G handset.

    c. The signal wavelength for 2G service might be a higher form of wavelength (the 1900 or 2100MHz) which are not good when it comes to penetrating buildings. The best wavelengths to penetrate buildings are usually the lower ones (850/900 MHz).

    Also, don't rely on AT&T coverage maps. Those just give you an idea where coverage is and how expanded it is. Also, they are not updated continuously. You area might be new to 3G and you might not have noticed.
     
  4. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
  5. JennaLDS thread starter macrumors 6502

    JennaLDS

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Utah!
    #5
    Hmm I dont know if that is it or not, when I talked to Apple and AT&T they stated that, that really shouldn't affect it that much.. not THAT much of a difference anyway. Maybe 1 bar, but not 3 or more.

    When I talked to AT&T Friday, they said that 3g still had not been updated. And the sad thing is that I live right in town.. hmm.. I guess Ill just have to suck it up, and fork out the money for a new phone..
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    EDIT - Seems I misread the first Post. Both are you are on EDGE right OP? If so, then the extra EDGE bars are attributed to the more powerful X-Gold 608 baseband chip the the iPhone 3G carries. The S-Gold 2 is not as nearly as powerful, so that can make up for differences in signal strength.
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    I don't think she was saying the friend got 3G in the home. If so, then the OP was meaningless. I think she was saying the friend had 3 bars of EDGE on their 3G, while she has 1 bar. The original iPhone only gets EDGE; no 3G. If that was not what the OP was saying, then......
     
  8. JennaLDS thread starter macrumors 6502

    JennaLDS

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Utah!
    #8
    Yes she was getting edge as I assume.. Like I said there is NO 3g in my area yet.
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Then it's the stronger chip in her iPhone. That's the difference between the 1st Gen and 2nd Gen iPhone.
     
  10. freediverdude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #10
    One other explanation might be that the antenna in the phone has been improved on the later iphones versus the original iphone. I know I had it happen to me between a sony-ericcson handset and a nokia one time. I took my sony-ericsson into AT&T complaining that I only got 1 bar at home and could not make calls, even outside. They told me that nokias generally had better antennas, and sent me home with a nokia. And sure enough, I usually had 3 bars all the time on the nokia in the exact same spot. I think a lot of it has to do with the antenna inside the phone.
     

Share This Page