Wifi situation is pretty bad on DP7 (And now on GM as well)

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by iBlazed, Sep 8, 2014.

  1. iBlazed macrumors 68000

    iBlazed

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, United States
    #1
    The wifi has been worse in this DP than any other before it, for me at least. The signal keeps dropping and I have to turn it on and off. What's even weirder is that when this happens, the wifi symbol in the menu bar looks like it's searching for signal, but if you click it it shows that it's connected to my home network.
     
  2. cassini007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    #2
    Same issue here with PB2. And using an Apple router, at that.
     
  3. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    Count me three.

    Already submitted bug report.
     
  4. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    Same here from time to time, I have to go into system Preference to restart WiFi. Other times, no issue. Reported it as well.
     
  5. rmercier macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
  6. Common.Sense macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Location:
    the netherlands
    #6
    DP2, same issues here, often connect but internet does not work. Need to log out and in ...
     
  7. GoGa macrumors regular

    GoGa

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
  8. mateen110 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #8
    Every 20 minutes or so my connection drops. I though it was my university's wifi but guess its just Yosemite?
     
  9. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    It's been solid on every version for me :confused:

    Yes I have an Apple AC/BT 4.0 card installed in my cMP.
     
  10. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #10
    I have an Apple AC/BT 4.0 card installed on my rMBP, but I've had a terrible time with WiFi the last two builds. DP7 seems somewhat more stable than DP6/PB2.
     
  11. iBlazed thread starter macrumors 68000

    iBlazed

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, United States
    #11
    So now we're in the GM stage, and my wifi is still disconnecting a few times a day for no reason. Why is this still happening? It's so frickin annoying!!!
     
  12. mannyo1221 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Location:
    Blandford, UK.
    #12
    I'm using PB6 and my Wifi is also terrible, but only on the 5GHZ band.

    On 5GHZ the wifi regularly disconnects or the wifi icon changes to having an ! in the middle as if it cannot get an IP address.

    On 2.4GHZ it remains connected, rock solid and never disconnects or show other issues.

    My Macbook is a mid 2013 15.6" rMBP.
     
  13. Dephibio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #13
    Same issues here. Tx Rate is fluctuating all the time.
     
  14. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #14
    I had this frequently on Mavericks, but Yosemite has fixed it for me. World is full of mysteries...
     
  15. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #15
    I had this problem with Snow Leopard and newer. A SMC + NVRAM reset + a new configuration of the WLAN router helped. A clean install helps too.
     
  16. goldenboy48 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
  17. cho26504 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #17
    Same issues and surprise this has never been addressed at all.


     
  18. iBlazed thread starter macrumors 68000

    iBlazed

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, United States
    #18
    Still happening for me in the final release of Yosemite. Ridic.
     
  19. Ai-apple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    #19
    After playing around with the 5GHz setting on my Asus RT-AC68 today, the 5GHz connection is now as good as using on Mavericks. I just have the Control Channel option checked, in the 5GHz WiFi General setting page. If those who are using Asus RT-AC68, give it a try if you have issue with 5GHz connection.
     

Share This Page