Wii on my VGA monitor

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by irishgrizzly, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    What's the best way to do this (no loss of image quality)?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    I'm guessing component to a vga box.


    http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-de-49-en-15-vga+box-70-2b90.html

    something like that, though it's a bit pricy. :)
    (though it does come with the component cable included, so that's not too shabby)



    edit: just read buyer review and that one didn't do too well, however there is also

    http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-11z-49-en-15-vga+box-70-1d2s.html

    this one seems to be cheaper and offer the same and got better user reviews, but still doesn't seem 'perfect'.
     
  3. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #3
  4. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    Now that is hot! I might have to get me one!

    Shame that Pal GC games have no 480p support at all, but for VC and Wii games this could be very very good for me.

    It's almost 2008. all consoles should have (official) VGA output :(
     
  5. irishgrizzly thread starter macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #5

    Hear hear. Hmm reading about the component comments I'm wondering if my Dell widescreen would handle them ok. It has DVI, VGA and I think it has (90% sure) component. Has anyone had experience of using a Dell (or similar) monitor this way?

    Sorry for the newbie q's – toying with the idea of getting a Wii of Mario Galaxies.
     
  6. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #6
    You could also consider the RBG Scart Wii cable and do SCART->VGA. It'll only do 576i/480i but it might be a fair bit cheaper as it's all analogue.

    Edit: Scratch that the VGA cables above look a much better option.
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Is it a 2407 ? Mine has component, the 20" models don't and the newer 24" doesn't either.


    ----

    out of interest, thanks to Jack's post.

    I ordered a set of the vdigi cable - i'm a sucker for having loads of cables
    $39.95 + $10 postage to Ireland (€34 total)
     
  8. irishgrizzly thread starter macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #8
    Hmm, it's a 20" – got it about 8 months ago. I think it may have composite connection. Would his offer any useful options? :confused:

    edit: just found this site. It's useful for comparing composite and component. Composite is visibly more blurry.
     
  9. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #9
    Definitely avoid composite for LCD screens, it's awful.

    I found another link on that VGA cable that states it's actually a tiny Component to VGA convertor. it has a Y component cable for setup. On a forum I found discussing it, they mentioned that it did a good job and didn't over-saturate the image like the VGA convertor box they had replaced it with.

    Please post when you get it MacRumorUser. :) If it does a better job than component, I'll get one.

    <]=)
     

Share This Page