Will a fresh install of tiger wipeout garage band?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pelachile, May 21, 2007.

  1. pelachile macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    #1
    I just received a used iMac G5 PPC. I want to get it back to factory settings so I can become the admin and remove all other profiles. Will I lose Garageband if I do a reinstall with erase?:confused:
     
  2. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    If you do a erase and install you'll lose everything, however if you have both of the install discs that came with the iMac the entire iLife suite (including Garageband) can be reinstalled using the second disc.
     
  3. pelachile thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    #3
    Right. I have both software disks that came with the computer. However, awhile back a purchased Tiger from the Apple store for my G4 but it didn't come with iLife.
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    Purchased Tiger disks don't contain iLife, Tiger Install Disks do.
     
  5. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Yeah, only new Macs come with iLife bundled. If you buy Tiger stand alone you don't get iLife.
     
  6. Bobjob186 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Laguna Beach
    #6
    boot from the disk and you change all the user stuff and root password too.
     
  7. pelachile thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    #7
    Okay, thanks you guys. I gonna go for it, I'll be back and let you know how it went.
     
  8. pelachile thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    #8
    All is good. I am now posting from my G5. It only has 512 megs of ram but it is still alot faster than my iMac G4. Now all I have to do is figure out how to get it to do extended desktop.
     
  9. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html ;)
     

Share This Page