Will a Gigabyte RX 560 4GB run two monitors at 60Hz at the same time? One 2160p the other, 1440p?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by eyeangle, Aug 6, 2017.

  1. eyeangle macrumors regular

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    I asked this in another thread but didn't get an answer so though I'd try here.

    I'm considering buying a Gigabyte RX 560 4GB tomorrow but I need to make sure that it can run a 2160p 60Hz monitor and a 1440p 60Hz monitor at the same time both 60Hz.

    I'm going to use the HDMI for the 4K monitor and DVI for the 1440p monitor. The card says it can run an 8K monitor over DisplayPort so I'm guessing it'll easily be able to power these two displays but I want to be sure.
     
  2. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Can't guarantee anything, but it should work just fine. As long as you have the right cables (Dual Link DV-I/D and HDMI)
     
  3. cube, Aug 6, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2017

    cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #3
    It should be able to run 8K+4K+WQXGA at 60Hz.

    It might support up to 6 monitors total on Windows by splitting the DisplayPort.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    The hurdle is not on the card, but the MacOS. It may cost you some time, or even some 3rd party software / adaptor to achieve that.
     
  5. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #5
    Mac has no problem connecting one screen to each port on the card.
     
  6. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #6
    You will probably need to go Display Port to HDMI, possibly via an active adaptor, on the 4k display. That's what works for me with an RX460. To get 60Hz, I needed SwitchResX software to make it go with earlier versions of Sierra, but that add on software may not be necessary under 10.12.6.

    I have a second display running via single-link DVI.
     
  7. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    I just picked up am RX 560 for testing. Gonna try out 4k60
     
  8. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #8
    I think my MBP2011 did not support 4k60 on the RX 460 HDMI with Sierra and I had to go through DisplayPort.
     
  9. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    Nevermind. XFX Cards DO NOT work :D
     
  10. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #10
    There was already a thread about that.
     
  11. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
    Yes, and I was aware of this until I got home and realized it was XFX :D I got caught in the moment :)
     

Share This Page