Will Apple use DDR2 or DDR3 RAM in the Montevina iMacs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Tsurisuto, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. Tsurisuto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #1
    And if they don't, can I buy and install DDR3 RAM myself, or will there be a restriction by Apple on the type of RAM supported?

    The only reason I ask is that current DDR3 is very expensive and I don't see Apple eating into their own profit margin.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    You cannot substitute DDR3 for DDR2 or vice versa - they are incompatible. So whatever type Apple designs into the motherboard you're stuck with.
     
  3. Tsurisuto thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the quick response.

    I have a feeling that I'm going to be stuck with DDR2 RAM when I upgrade my ageing iMac G5 2.0Ghz before the year's end. I hope Apple at least choose to go with 800Mhz DDR2 and not stay with the current 667Mhz.
     
  4. spooky mulder macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    ca
    #4
    newb question.... whats the difference? just curious
     
  5. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #5
    The current ram apple uses in the minis and imacs has been available for a while, and is widely used. It's plentiful, and inexpensive. DDR3, on the other hand, is supposed to be awfully expensive, and I've read a couple of articles stating that its performance doesn't justify its price compared with DDR2.
     
  6. blurb23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #6
    DDR3 is faster.

    However, it costs like twice as much as DDR2 for only 10% performance gain (these numbers aren't exact, just what I could remember off the top of my head).
     
  7. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    I am quite confident Apple will stick with DDR2 with Montevina since it will protect current user's investment in RAM (many purchased DDR2-800 for their DDR2-667 Macs).

    DDR3 will likely come with Nehalam, especially on the Mac Pro.
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    Hahahaha <gasp> Haahaha :D

    When has Apple EVER had protecting past owner's investment in mind? That's not even a blip on their corporate radar.
     
  9. Tsurisuto thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #9
    Why?
     
  10. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #10
    Actually, it IS a blip on their corporate radar. Radar is to help you locate and identify objects so you can avoid them.
     
  11. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #11
    DDR3 is expected to cost only 10% more than DDR2 by 2H 2008.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    It's up to Apple but I expect DRR3 on the laptops.
     
  13. czeluff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #13
    no ddr3

    We won't see DDR3 until the CAS and RAS latency numbers get out of near-double-digit range.

    avg ddr3 timings are gross: 8-8-8-18.
     
  14. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #14
    Intel always pushes new RAM. They don't care about price or timings.
     
  15. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #15
    Montevina goes up to DDR3-1066. This memory is commonly at CL7.
     
  16. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #16
    Bragging rights. 800 is a larger number than 667. Some people aren't happy unless they have the latest, highest specs. I seriously doubt that anyone on this forum could tell a real-world difference.
     
  17. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #17
    Because they're morons. They're the same people who put 93 octane in a car designed for 87.
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    I'm going to ignore higher bandwidth and lower voltages.
     
  19. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #19
    Which are course irrelevant in a computer not designed for it.
     
  20. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #20
    Would you please elaborate on this? If it requires more dialog you'd be better off to IM me.
     
  21. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #21
    If the machine's specs call for 667Mhz RAM, installing 800Mhz RAM (assuming it will work at all) will give no speed benefit.
     
  22. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #22
    I see the communication problem here. I was commenting on DDR2 vs. DDR3.
     
  23. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #23
    But wouldn't the same apply? If the machine calls for DDR2, you think you would see a benefit from using DDR3?
     
  24. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #24
    As it has already been said DDR3 and DDR2 can't substitute for each other in the same slots.

    DDR3 offers the benefits of greater bandwidth per clock and lower voltages. Montevina offers support for both memory types but it appears to be up to the manufacturer on what type their motherboard will use. Expect Montevina laptops with either DDR2 or DDR3 depending on their purpose.

    Is there something else that I'm missing?
     

Share This Page