Will i be charged for data if i just stick my sim cim card into the iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JJBro1, Dec 24, 2009.

  1. JJBro1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #1
    K so i got an iphone 3g and thought i was set until they hit us with the data plan and now we had to cancel it and I'm iphoneless. ATT said that if i ever come back and use the iphone I would have to call them and let them know so they can charge me with the data plan. I asked them why don't i just stick in my sim card from the other phone and roll with that, and they said that the iphone is constantly trying to download data and without that data plan your going to be charged way more. I then found that there was a turn off 3g option, if I turn that off will the iphone stop searching for data thus I won't get stuck with data charges?
     
  2. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (BB 8900: BlackBerry8900/5.0.0.348 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/301)

    Turning off 3G doesn't deactivate EDGE, so no, that will not work. You can use an APN changer to set your APN to dummy settings, but ATT does sweeps for higher phones on non-data plans and you are subject to plan changes that way as well.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3


    The rest of the post was correct besides this part.
    AT&T will not change or add a data plan to your account without your consent. They might notify you about it and bug you but thats about it.
     
  4. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (BB 8900: BlackBerry8900/5.0.0.348 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/301)



    Correct. They will not change your plan, but will notify you that you must enroll in a data plan. Some people have no problems remaining sans data, and some people have had their service/account suspended until the discrepancy is resolved. But no, they cannot directly change your plan without consent.
     
  5. JJBro1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #5
    so is there ANY way i can use the iphone as a phone without the data plan?
     
  6. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #6
    If the iPhone is running 3.0+, it disables data on non official AT&T plans such as GoPhone plans. Occasionally though a small bit of data still makes it through and you will get charged a few cents here and there.

    Since this is not an official iPhone plan, the iPhone should block data on 3.0+ as I said. You can jailbreak your phone and then install sbsetiings and then disable edge on there. It will still allow you to make calls but no data will go through.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Go here http://unlockit.co.nz/
    on your iPhones browser and install the fake apn data block.
    After that you should be good. You will only be able to acess Internet thru wifi.
     
  8. JJBro1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #8
    is this working for you?
     
  9. JJBro1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #9
    where can i find that app?
     
  10. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #10
    The APN changer doesn't work in 3.0 and above.

    Also, I have a go-phone and I've put a data block on my account by calling AT&T. I don't have a data plan and I could't get data even if I wanted to.
     
  11. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    Merry Christmas, TheSpaz. Welcome back from your hiatus.
     
  12. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #12
    Thank you. I was banned for name calling.
     
  13. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #13
    You have to jailbreak the iPhone and then install Cydia. From there, you search for SBSettings and then install it. To run SBSettings, you simply swipe your finger allong the top of the menu bar where the clock is and SBSettings drops down.

    To stop data in SBSettings, tap on the edge icon to turn it off, it will turn red.
     
  14. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #14
    Not true. I am on 3.1 with the iphone 3gs. The Apn changer works for me.
     
  15. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #15
    I've never had a problem getting it to work either.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16

    Yes, it does.
    I installed it on 3 iPhones with no data on 3.1.2
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Yes
     

Share This Page