Will I lose my backup if I chose set up as new phone in preparation for sale?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by BLee17, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. BLee17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Bout to wipe my old 3G in preparation for my 4 which I'm about to go pick up.

    I wanted to back up, then restore, then choose "set up as new phone" so that all my data is gone on the old 3G in preparation for sale.

    Now, if I do this, can I plug my new iPhone 4 in and still restore from the last back up, eventhough I recently set up my old 3G as a new one? I REALLY do not want to lose all my data. HELP!
     
  2. SteinyD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    If you are doing this with your 3G so your 3G is clear of all your data, all you need to do is go to settings, reset and 'erase all content and settings' without ever having to connect to iTunes. You're backup will remain preserved in case you want to use it when you connect your iPhone 4 and want to restore from that last backup.



     
  3. BLee17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #3
    Thanks!

    This takes like 1-2 hours though, right?
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    Yes. You’ll still need to restore the phone and setup as new after this.

    BTW, you didn’t say you were selling the 3G. If not, why are you wiping it?
     
  5. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #5
    Only if you name the new iPhone the same thing will your backup be overwritten. Even still you can copy the backup to another folder.
     

Share This Page