Will iOS 6.0.1 update lock my Verizon iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by johnificent, Nov 1, 2012.

  1. johnificent macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #1
    Hi! I'm using my iphone 5 that I got from verizon on tmobile because its "factory unlocked from the box" :eek: well, if I update to ios 6.0.1 would it lock to verizon? Thanks!
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  3. johnificent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #3
    Ok :) I wasn't sure because I put my imei in a website where you can check your unlock status and it told me it was locked, not sure if it was accurate though!
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Those are usually for GSM iphones.
    The verizon iphone 5 is forever unlocked and sold unlocked and will never lock.
    I dont know why people bother checking the imei sites. All you have to do is stick your sim and you will know in seconds.
     
  5. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #5
    Can the iphone 5 OTA update from 6.0 to 6.0.1? I heard that the OTA system on 6.0 for iphone 5 has a bug and cannot do it!
     
  6. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #6
    There is a bug but it's handled during the update process.
     
  7. jester0723 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    Go to the OTA update page and hit learn more. It installs a tiny app that you run. It disappears and then you can go into settings and install OTA.

    OTA means wifi, unfortunately.
     
  8. macman312 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia --> Cincinnati,OH
    #8
    Hi
    Just out of interest where did you buy your iPhone? as I want to do the same thing
     
  9. johnificent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #9
    My aunt actually had a verizon contract and her 2 year contract ended and she could upgrade, but she didn't want to give up her current phone, but she got an iPhone 5 anyways. She DIDE activate the sim it came with and verizon was fine with us keeping the iPhone and she could keep her phone and her current contract, so, the iPhone was given to me and it was unlocked :D
     
  10. WooYing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #10
    What website would that be, mind sharing? TIA
     
  11. macman312 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia --> Cincinnati,OH
    #11
    Thanks for that
     
  12. johnificent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
  13. luckyarcher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #13
    Once the phone is activated, would it need to be reactivated each time the firmware is updated? I've got an iphone from Verizon but im not in the US. Not exactly factory unlocked, some ebay seller who sold his iphone without terminating his contract.
     
  14. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #14
    You have to admit it was humorous though... fixing a ota update bug with.... an ota update lmfao

    I did that imei site and it said my verizon phone was locked too. So it's something with the site. It got my contract end date right though
     
  15. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #15
    Only when the device is restored.

    It used to be that moving between major versions of iOS (e.g. iOS 4 to 5) required a restore, but since iOS 5 added OTA updates, that seems to have changed.
     
  16. luckyarcher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #16
    Somethings not right, why is a Verizon phone then called factory unlocked? Someone who is overseas would not be able to activate with another sim?
    On checking with IMEI sites mention activation status as confirmed or not. Restoring my phone would not change activation status in Apple's server, I believe?
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    You're making false assumptions.
    You can activate a verizon iphone 5 with any GSM sim.
    Stop checking imei sites, the verizon i5 is unlocked for GSM use on any carrier.
    This is madness...
     
  18. Daveoc64, Nov 3, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012

    Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #18
    The source of data used by these sites isn't actually the Apple Unlock Database.

    These IMEI checkers get their data from Apple's warranty systems, which are sometimes a bit out of date.

    My post was actually referring to the process of activating an iOS device.

    When you restore an iOS device to the default settings, it is put into an unactivated state. To reactivate it, you must go through the wizard that appears when the restore is complete. The activation process checks which carrier (if any) the device should be locked to and sets the SIM lock status of the device accordingly.

    If you have an unlocked phone, the activation process will accept ANY SIM inserted into the phone as being valid.

    If you have a locked phone, the activation process will only complete if you put a SIM into the phone from the carrier it's locked to.
     
  19. Beeplance macrumors 65816

    Beeplance

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    Have never heard of a bug-fix update locking up a phone.
     
  20. fospino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #20
    My iPhone 4 was lock after the update. Bought it in Europe, it was unlock by apple after 6 months period which it is the law in France. I was using it with a simple mobile sim and now it does not work!!
     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #21
    That doesn't make much sense.
    Maybe your i4 was unlocked with ultrasnow or a gevey.
    Once a phone is factory unlocked its forever unlocked and it won't lock to any carrier no matter if you update or restore period.
     

Share This Page