Will maps work overseas (Italy)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Italianblend, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. Italianblend macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #1
    If I buy the AT&T overseas plan, will my maps app be able to do directions in Italy?
     
  2. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #2
    Why not?

    As long as you get data the maps will load.
     
  3. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
    As long as you have a data connection (Wi-Fi or Cellular Data Roaming), then the App will function more or less the same as it does in the USA.
     
  4. Italianblend thread starter macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #4
    Okay thanks. I wasn't sure that the maps app would have overseas roads and directions. And that the gps would work in real-time.
     
  5. Jimmy James macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #5
    Wirelessly posted

    Maps won't work overseas. Only America has satellite and cellular technology. Just holding a smart in another country will flag you as an educated, first-world citizen. They will be in awe.
     
  6. Italianblend thread starter macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #6
    oh okay thanks...I guess I'll have to buy an Italian gps or something.
     
  7. kevinwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Location:
    socal
    #7
    He was being Sarcastic man
     
  8. quietstormSD macrumors 6502a

    quietstormSD

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    I would just buy an app where the Italy maps are downloaded directly on your phone. I've heard of disaster stories of people running up data while overseas, even with an international plan.
     
  9. JerseyDoug macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #9
    Sounds like good advice.

    To the OP, i just entered Rome, Italy into the map app on my iPhone. Got a map. So, I think you are good. However, keep in mind the above advice and enjoy your trip.
     
  10. Hexiii macrumors 65816

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #10
    I think the OP too.
     
  11. Twixt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #11
    I bought data only SIM at TIM in Rome 2 months ago for a 2 week trip (20 euros or so for one month).
    Maps worked perfectly with no risk of booming roaming costs
     
  12. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #12
    Work? Yes. Are you willing to pay the roaming data costs for it?

    Consider getting a nav app with locally stored map data if you'll be using nav a lot over there.

    ...or a local SIM with data.
     
  13. Lotso macrumors 6502

    Lotso

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Location:
    OC, California
    #13
    I used it when I went over to Italy last Summer and it worked flawlessly. However, be aware that the Maps application uses a HUGE amount of data. Even though you have the International Data Plan, your still paying per MB/GB.

    Also be make sure you are closing the app in the multitasking tray, it will still continue to use data if you leave it open.

    As far as offline maps go, I tried a few different Apps, none were very good, and they only were available for famous cites. Like Venice (Very easy to get lost) and Florence and Rome.

    Good luck to you though, have a nice trip!
     
  14. Italianblend thread starter macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #14
    I suppose I could get directions with the maps app, then go into airplane mode and only turn data on when I need to check the progress.
     
  15. bwapod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #15
    I will *definitely* second that~
     

Share This Page