Will my iPhone 4S automatically connect to 4G after network upgrade?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Rodney2009, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. Rodney2009 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    OK this is on a 3 g network if my provider goes to 4 G how will my phone notice this thanks?
     
  2. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Your iphone 4S will not notice or connect to 4G LTE service at all cause it doesnt have the hardware inside for it.
    In Canada they do have LTE available but 3G is still far more available.
     
  4. Rodney2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    3G to 4 G

    thanks but I am still confused here will it automatic go to 4 g when they get it or they prob wont for a long while I got this cause it was unlocked and I deal with Easyhome as well. Had for 3-4 weeks now I got sick of reg cell phones lol
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    No, it will NEVER go to 4G.
    You need to buy an iphone 5 to get 4G LTE service.
    Your iphone 4S wont EVER EVER get 4G service in Canada.
     
  6. Rodney2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    4S I phone reply

    OK thanks man anyhow I am happy with what I got I was offered a 3S but was not to sure to go with or stay with the one I got now


     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    You mean iphone 3GS?
    I wouldnt downgrade from an iphone 4S to a 3GS.
    That's 2 years older hardware than the 4S you have now.
     
  8. emjaycee18 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #8
    That's not 100% true. On AT&T they consider HSPA+ 4G, which will display on the 4S.
     
  9. boomhower macrumors 68000

    boomhower

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #9
    Just because they call it 4G doesn't make it 4G. If it's not LTE it's not 4G, end of story.
     
  10. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #10
    LTE didn't meet the same criteria HPSA+ didn't. Both are inaccurately referred to as 4G.

    If the 4S connects to HPSA+ it will display "4G" which is nothing more then a marketing term anymore. Which the 4S is capable of, provided the right network.

    I'm not sure what's been "rewritten" but it used to take an LTE Advanced network to pull off true 4G.
     
  11. Sedrick macrumors 68030

    Sedrick

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #11
    My new 4S shows 4G. So you saying it doesn't matter what it says up there?
     
  12. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #12
    Not saying that at all. But standards were rewritten to call HPSA+ 4G. So if that's what 4G is then that's what it is. My point was LTE is no more 4G then HPSA+ even though it is a lot faster. Keep in mind the 4G indicator was added to the 4S in a software update (5.1 I believe) the data speeds didn't change just the indicator did.

    In my opinion 4G had become nothing more then a marketing term. Devices should just display what network they are on 3G, HPSA+, LTE. I believe some (not all) Android devices do 3G, H+ and LTE.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    He's in Canada.
    They don't play that marketing scam there calling 3G+ to 4G like AT&T does here.
     
  14. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #14
    to make a long story short, you are getting basically a super charged 3G haha. It is the "fake" 4G aka hspa+
     
  15. sviato macrumors 68020

    sviato

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    HR 9038 A
    #15
    In Canada it only says 3G even if you're on HSPA+. [although BB Bold 9900 says H+]
     
  16. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #16
    3G in the USA is speeds up to around 5-7 mbps (highest I have seen)
    HSPA+ is basically double that with speeds up to 14.4 mbps (expect around 5-7)
    LTE is apparently up to 100mbps but you will probably never get more than 65mbps, I have personally never seen past 63 on any of these speed test threads
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Here's mine earlier today:)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page