Will OS 10.7 (Lion) restrict C2D MBAs in any way (vs i5/i7)?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by zub3qin, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. zub3qin macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #1
    I'm struggling with this one - but I am not an expert.

    Can anyone think of any feature/functionality or speed differences there would be between the current C2D MBA (assume 2.1 4GB RAM) and a future i7/i5 MBA with Lion? Could Lion in some way be slower or more restrictive on C2D machines?

    I really want an MBA. But I don't NEED one. I have a 2008 Macbook that is my primary computer and is OK for now (although slow with beachballs often.) But I don't want to wait until next year.... I'm SO hoping it's out in June.

    I don't want to get a MBP and self install a SSD (although maybe I am stupid) for fear that there will be an issue (ie the sleep/hibernate problem people are having, or maybe Lion will have an issue with it?).

    Thanks for advice.
     
  2. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    There should no limitations on the C2D processors however obviously the i5/i7 processors will be snappier.
     
  3. zub3qin thread starter macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #3
    Is this really the case? I mean it sounds right but... Except simple things like finder, mission control, etc... would you really have any more of a "snappy" experience with i7/i5 vs C2D?
     
  4. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    As for the more snappy feel i have no proof but even the current i7/i5 feel a bit snappier(just a bit) in 10.6.6 than my C2D, as for the no limitations it would make ZERO sense for apple to release a product the MPA in OCT and then less than a year latter with lion (pro AUG) render some features non functional on it wont happen, if i had to guess i would say the C2D wont see any limitations until 10.8 and end of life (in terms of wont upgrade to the OS) with either 10.9 or more likely 11.
     
  5. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #5
    Check the Activity Monitor when you're doing normal stuff in OS X. The C2D is asleep for 99% most of the time. The eye candy Lion will add can easily be handled by the Air's GPU, and it will still feel snappy due to the fast SSD. Even a i7 feels sluggish with many day-to-day things if it doesn't have an SSD. And yes, it makes that much of a difference.
     
  6. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    100% agree with the SSD comment.
     
  7. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #7
    I am hoping my C2D 1.8 mini with SSD will hold fine for Lion. Thoughts?
     
  8. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Personally i think so with no limitations, however with 2gb of ram 10.8 probably not.
     
  9. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
    I need to change that. I have 4 in there now, which of course it says 3 and Im assuming can only really use 3. Am I looking at an issue there as well?
     
  10. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    I think it registers 3 instead of 4 due to a 32 bit v 64 bit issue...
    also which mac mini do you have exactly is your processor a 64 bit one?
     
  11. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #11
    Core 2 Duo - so Im assuming 64bit right?
    Edit. And just to clarify again, I did slap in back 3GB. I have it sitting apart on my desk right now becausee I was putting in the SSD. So if I put 4GB it should read 4GB right?
     
  12. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    yes core 2 duo should be 64 bit and thus will be fine for lion,
    however its odd that your mini only shows 3gb of ram.. unless you have a 32bit version of os-x on it.
    is your mini a mid 2007 or early 2009 one?
     
  13. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
  14. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #14
    right on, thanks for the info. Guess Ill be slapping back the 4GB to et as much as I can out of it. Yeah, it came with 10.4. It has 10.6 now, or technically, Will once I set it back up.
     
  15. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    i think if you force it to install a 64 bit version of os-x it should show all 4 but not 100% sure, and you welcome.
     
  16. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    32 bit Macs can see and use 4GB of ram just fine (but not more than that).

    i5/i7 will indeed be faster than C2D.
     
  17. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #18
    Cant state 32bit macs as a whole. There was a difference between shared and unshared graphics in regards to how the mac handled ram. Its well documented that certain mini's could only read/use 3GB or ram and not 4.
     
  18. phairphan macrumors 6502a

    phairphan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Location:
    Reject Beach
    #19
    None of the 2007 Minis can address more than 3 GB of RAM. This is a chipset limitation. You can install 4, but you'll only see 3 regardless of the OS version or whether it's a 32 or 64 bit OS.
     
  19. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #20
    will a matched pair of 2 GB sticks run better than a 2gb and a 1gb?
     
  20. deedas macrumors regular

    deedas

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #21
    I read somewhere recently (probably arstechnica) that the i5/7 cpus will be great for when TRIM runs on 10.7. They didn't say anything about C2Ds so I don't really know what to make of it.

    Either way I'm not worried about running 10.7 on my mba.
     
  21. phairphan, Mar 5, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011

    phairphan macrumors 6502a

    phairphan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Location:
    Reject Beach
    #22
    If by run better you mean operate in dual channel mode, I'm fairly certain they won't in the 2007 Minis. Your memory and by extension your graphics performance will take a small (emphasis on small) hit by going over 2 GB.
     
  22. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #23
    No this will not work, the old machines while having 64 bit CPU's did not have a 64 bit compatible chipset and/or efi. So these machines are essentially locked on 32 bit. This was due to there being no 64 bit mobile chipset.
     
  23. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #24
    Thanks i wasnt sure but i figured it was either the os or chipset limitation.
     
  24. zstar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #25

Share This Page