Will the Genius Bar take a look/replace my phone even though I'm not on AT&T?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Gigamaster89, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. Gigamaster89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #1
    I'm on T-Mobile currently but it's pretty much being used as a MP3 player. Can I just restore it, tell them I got it off eBay (which I did) and using it as a iTouch?

    It's a first gen, and it seems the battery isn't holding the charge well anymore.

    I have Applecare warranty on it from the previous owner (in the process of getting it transferred).

    Or if all else fails, can I just get a prepaid AT&T sim (without data of course)? or what if I use my friends SIM who also have an iPhone (with data :p)? In which case, does it affect his phone plan in anyway?
     
  2. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #2
    Hmm. I'm pretty sure jailbreaking voids the warranty.
     
  3. eshiku macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #3
    the prepaid sim wouldnt work. since you have applecare, you can just send it in. or just use your friend's sim card
     
  4. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #4
    They actually have access to the database of iPhone phone numbers. They ask for your number and plug it in and if it doesn't come up you're out of luck. Sorry man, one of the pitfalls of not sticking to the contract.
     
  5. qawsed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #5
    Restore it and they'll fix it no problem. Its not a condition of the warranty that you have to be on att.
     
  6. Gigamaster89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #6
    I just called Apple and they told me two things:

    a) You don't have to transfer Applecare, it's attached to the phone.

    b) You don't have to be on AT&T, I told them I was using it as an iTouch. The problem is, now I have to restore the phone. And if I do, how do I activate it without JBing? What will I tell them if they say how are you using this unactivated phone as an iTouch.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Dont activate it.
    And tell them your AT&T account got disconnected or something and you couldnt activate it at the moment.
     
  8. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #8

    They're absolutely correct about AppleCare, but I'm pretty positive that they won't service your US iPhone if it's not on AT&T. They have always checked my phone to make sure it's on AT&T. Regardless, there's no way you can explain your way out of how you've unlocked it to be an iPod Touch.
     
  9. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
  10. Gigamaster89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #10
    Actually, now to think of it, I do have a SIM card from AT&T from the previous owner. If I remember right, it should still work if I restore and put the card in right?
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    No that wont work either unless you activate it and open up an account thru itunes with AT&T.
    If its an unactivated sim that the previous owner just left there it wont do anything.


     
  12. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #12
    provided

    the number is active which I doubt. do you have any friends on AT&T network that would provide you with the solution for redoing the jailbreaking and possibly apple depends on how though they are. One other possibility get a pass as you go sims. either way your going to need a AT&T sims to rejb
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    And in English please?

     
  14. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #14
    Yikes! :eek:
     
  15. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #15
    sorry

    I'm not as good as you have a good night! :D
     

Share This Page