Win 7 Pro says only 6 of 8gb ram is usable in 2011 mbp 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by auhlixer, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. auhlixer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    Does this mean i have bad ram?
    Just ran a quick hardware test coming up w/ no errors so now i am doing the extended hardware test.

    It's a 2011 15" mbp 2.3ghz
    8gb of owc ram
    windows 7 professional 64bit
    on a ocz agility 2 120gb

    no osx yet had to send my owc extreme 6g 240gb back :mad:
     
  2. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #2
    Are you in Bootcamp or a virtual machine? Through Bootcamp, my 8GB kit shows up fine.
     
  3. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #3
    +1 Same here.
     
  4. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #4
    In bootcamp

    The extended hardware test didn't find anything either. But after that windows wouldn't boot and had to restore from the version before i installed bootcamp drivers. The windows memory test didn't find any errors either.......
     
  5. bperrella macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_8 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E401 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Are you Running win 7 64bit? I think for windows to see 8gb you need 64 bit
     
  6. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #6
    Yes

    It's Windows Professional 64bit


     
  7. Blondie :) macrumors 6502a

    Blondie :)

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    #7
    what brand of RAM are you using? you might be able to find some sort of windows firmware update online...unless of course it's apple RAM, then you're kinda hosed haha
     
  8. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #8
  9. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #9
    So i tried booth sticks of ram by themselves

    and they both read 4gb usable.......
     

Share This Page