Windows 7:Bootcamp first and then link to Parallels? (or other way around works too?)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by doxavita, May 24, 2011.

1. doxavita macrumors 6502a

If I buy Windows 7 and Parallels.

Should I install Windows 7 (through Bootcamp: for gaming purposes) first and then link that partition/installation to Parallels?

Or the other way around works too? Install Parallels then Windows 7 (through Parallels) and then somehow link that to Bootcamp, would that also be possible? (Always the same Windows 7 license)

I'm new to all this, so your advice will be appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

Quad5Ny

You want to install everything in Boot Camp first and get all the drivers/updates loaded. Only after you do that, do you want to import your Boot Camp partition into Parallels Desktop.

If you have activation issues read this KB article - http://kb.parallels.com/en/9703

Remember if your using Parallels & Boot Camp together. ALWAYS Shut down Windows completely before switching between the two (Don't use Suspend or Hibernate).

3. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

And can I install it only in Parallels first, (which is where I'll be using Windows 7 most of the time) and LATER on if I decide to run a game in Bootcamp, do that installation after?

4. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

OK, so how would it all work? what should I read? If I install in bootcamp first, can I resize the partition later? Once I install it via bootcamp, how can I link it to Parallels? & I can still write to the partition? If I don't press a key at boot then I won't see any OS menus? (don't want any annoying menus each time I restart/boot my system). I'm new to all this, so your help will be greatly appreciated! :)

5. tomllama macrumors regular