Windows newbie – go easy

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by irishgrizzly, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    I want to install windows on a mac pro using an dedicated HD just to play games.

    Few questions;

    1. Would this version work/be ok? (see attached pic) If it's a home version it's 32bit right? I understand this means it can address less RAM. Anything else?

    2. If this EOM version works would there be a problem in doing regular reinstalls? - due to activation.

    Will I have trouble will wireless keyboard/mouse with XP?

    Thanks for any help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #2
    OEM version works fine, and yep, that 32-Bit.

    It's just the same as a standard version of Windows, so all the standard activation rules apply.

    Your wireless stuff should work fine, just install the drivers that you burn to CD when using Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  3. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yep - OEM XP Home will be fine. It has rather more basic networking than Pro, but is otherwise much the same.

    2. All versions of windows (except VLK licences) will require re-activation after a re-install, so your situation there is no different from using it on a regular Windows PC.

    The BT keyboard and mouse will work just fine once you install the bootcamp drivers
     
  4. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    So unfortunately you'll need a USB keyboard and mouse for the install of XP.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    The weird thing is during the actual 'install' my BT keyboard and mouse work fine. In fact the only time I had problems was 'after' it installed and then it wouldn't find them. bizarre...
     
  6. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #6

    No CD to burn with Leopard, remember? The Leopard DVD already has the drivers and has the autorun.exe when inserted on the Windows side.
     
  7. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #7
    Oh yeah, sorry, aint used Boot Camp since the Beta versions with Tiger.
     
  8. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Oh yup forgot about that. Apple writes the bluetooth settings into PRAM (or something) so that you can use the bluetooth on next boot. Windows breaks the pairing by using a different code so it stops working.
     

Share This Page