Wireless base station advice....

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by masterjedi73, Jul 31, 2010.

1. masterjedi73 macrumors 6502

masterjedi73

Anybody got a suggestion? My netgear b needs to go. Is the airport extreme worth the price?

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Depends on what you want in a router. Despite what people will say, I've never had any reliability or uptime issues with Linksys or Netgear routers that I haven't had with Apple routers. If you value ease of setup and integration, the AEBS is probably "worth it." If you want any kind of advanced features it's probably not.

3. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

masterjedi73

Tbh, I don't really know too much about the different routers. If anyone has time to outline some of the differences I'd appreciate it.

...and make sure your outline is inn correct form. I'm a teacher and i grade harshly. :D

4. plumosa macrumors regular

plumosa

then maybe you should look up heterographs for your next lesson :p

5. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

masterjedi73

Ha. I didn't catch that. Still learning to type on this iPad. I think the auto correct needs to be adjusted. Lol

Ok....I won't grade the outline. Anyone got any answers for me?

6. plumosa macrumors regular

plumosa

personally I don't think its worth it if you bought it new, but refurbished makes the price a lot better:

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/specialdeals/mac/mac_accessories

I have a refurb myself for going on 3 years? We're couchsurfers (a hospitality exchange) and we have many, many guests that have used it and there have been zero problems with a variety of machines. Now my damned dsl modem is another story...I have to reset it quite often and usually reset the "shinywhitebox" at the same time. But I know its the modem and not the wifi because I've switched carriers (and well, countries for that matter) in the last year.