Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bilba

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 2, 2004
Apperently if you are a UCLA student/staff you can get the Powerbook for a really good price.

Last I checked 1999$ will give you the 1.25 pbook 15", you can also get applecare for only 99$.

The price is not the same if you go through the Apple store, which only gives regular educational discount.

I have never seen a better price for powerbook.

Any one knows if any other Universities offer similar pricing?

Krizoitz

macrumors 68000
Apr 26, 2003
Tokyo, Japan
Re: Wish I was a UCLA student--deep discount for powerbooks

Never wish you were a dirty Bruin :)

Krizoitz
USC alumni and forever a Trojan (#1 baby!)

haganah

macrumors member
Dec 22, 2003
Does anyone know how the discount is received and if it's online so ahem students can take a look?

wordmunger

macrumors 603
Sep 3, 2003
North Carolina
Originally posted by haganah
Does anyone know how the discount is received and if it's online so ahem students can take a look?

My understanding is they check with the school to make sure you're a student before they ship.

Oddly, I went to the store and entered UCLA as my school and came up with $2299 for 1.25 superdive.

BTW, same computer at UNC Charlotte is $2299.

klyau6

macrumors member
Jan 19, 2004
DC
same for University of Maryland. Boo. if it were $1999 here, that would be the pushing factor for me getting a 15"!

Migs

macrumors newbie
Jan 29, 2004
Don't call it Frisco
I think you mean the 1 GHz 15 inch for $1799, and after applecare= $1999 plus $99. That is what it is at Berkeley.

It was nice beating the "co-champions" this year.

michaelrjohnson

macrumors 68020
Aug 9, 2000
i WISH my school had deep discounts on powerbooks, but we just have the "standard" edu discount.

I attend the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

john123

macrumors 68030
Jul 20, 2001