Withdrawal from Iraq - Is it the right move?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by OldCorpse, May 15, 2007.

1. OldCorpse macrumors 65816

OldCorpse

Most Americans think we should withdraw. However, there is a significant minority that thinks withdrawing will make the situation in Iraq worse. Surprisingly, some of that minority are Democrats.

So is withdrawal from Iraq the right move? Many people pretend to have the answer. Here, a very interesting person who does not pretend to have clairvoyance, has his view:

http://www.iraqslogger.com/index.php/post/2786/Rory_Stewart_Discusses_Withdrawal

Quote:

"What would I do in Iraq now? I am not an expert, but I believe that the time has come to withdraw, that our presence is infantilizing the Iraqi political system. That we're like an inadequate antibiotic. We are sufficiently strong to have turned what might have been a conventional civil war into a highly unconventional neighborhood conflict. But we're not strong enough to eliminate it entirely. At the same time I fear that, without intending to, we have discredited democracy in the eyes of many Iraqis. We have created a situation in which many Iraqis now feel that the only way to keep security is to bring back a strongman. They are extremely skeptical of our programs and suggestions for development.

I think that Iraqi politicians are considerably more competent, canny, and capable of compromise than we acknowledge. Iraqi nationalism, in my view, can trump the Shiite–Sunni divisions. Our continuing presence is encouraging Iraqi politicians to play hard-ball with each other. Were we to leave, they would be weaker and under more pressure to compromise. In our relations with the Iraqis we often blocked negotiations with Moqtada al-Sadr or Sunni insurgency leaders, or the offer of troop withdrawals and amnesties for former Baathists and insurgents, among others. Yet these will probably be elements in any kind of settlement.