Word 2008 won't print Arabic; Word 2004 will. Can I have both in Applications?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by malch, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. malch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    Hi there,
    Just got Microsoft Office 2008... mostly for Word. And now I find out Word 2008 won't print Arabic. It just so happens I have a project on the go which requires me to print Arabic, so I need to figure something out.
    I know Word 2004 will do Arabic.
    I own it as well, on another computer (both Macs). Can I copy just the Word 2004 app into the Applications folder on my MacBook Pro (where Word 2008 is already sittiing) - - and use it, as long as I don't have them both up at the same time?
    If I can do this, is the Word 2004 app the only thing I need to bring across... or are there other folders and whatnot?
    Thanks,
    malch
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  3. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    I think so.

    All those "*.apps" are actually folders containing all the stuff
     
  4. malch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #4
    o.k. that's great.
    Is the one Word 2004 application the only thing I need to copy over... just pop it in my Applications folder and that's it?
    Thanks again,
    malch
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    Not sure of the license issues (iirc office 2004 allowed 3 installs but may be wrong).

    It is best to use the installer again but you will need to copy more than just the app to get it work.

    It is possible to have them both on the same machine and it is even possible to run both at the same time.

    Picture 3.png

    edit: Slow

    This is usually the case but I have found that MS office is very picky about its things and requires itself to be in the correct place inside the Microsoft Office 2004 folder otherwise it will error out*, so you need at least the entire folder

    *
    Picture 4.png
     
  6. malch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #6
    Wow... xUKHCx, so I need the whole Microsoft Office 2004 folder (I was hoping to make it really simple)...
    Thanks...
    malch
     
  7. malch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #7
    thanks all. Copied the whole folder over, and am now printing in Arabic (I don't know what it means, but it's Arabic). Why would they leave this feature out, for the 2008 version?
    cheers,
    malch
     
  8. munson macrumors 6502

    munson

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    I don't know about any of that, but, you should just get pages. It's nice and simple.
     

Share This Page