World of Warcraft and ATI Radeon 2600

Discussion in 'iMac' started by smiko, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. smiko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #1
    So I just got my iMac, it's not brand new but what I didn't know was how much the graphics card would effect my gaming experience.

    To give you a more accurate picture, here are my stats:

    Processor

    2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory

    8GB DDR2 SDRAM
    Hard Drive

    1TB Serial ATA 7200 rpm
    Graphics

    ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB of GDDR3 memory

    Operating system

    Mac OS X 10.6, Snow Leopard

    I'm not familiar with iMacs in general and I was wondering if anyone could tell me if indeed my problem with game play being SUPER SUPER choppy is due to my graphics card? I tried to play everything on super low settings and it was still just terrible. I've read other threads where people have had no problems playing the game with ATI Radeon 2600.. I wonder why mine is being this way.

    Please let me know, I greatly appreciate it.
     
  2. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It's down to your graphics card. Most gamers will be running a very fast GPU with a minimum of 1GB Ram.

    An iMac really isnt the best choice of computer for games.

    I dont understand why people dont just buy a playstation or something if they want to play video games.
     
  3. AndyMoore macrumors 6502

    AndyMoore

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    WoW scales quite well, even on older Macs.

    My 20in 2.4C2D with the same graphics card played WoW 4.0.1 with the graphics set to medium. It still got a bit choppy in busy areas but otherwise played nicely.

    Try turning the graphic settings down and reduce the draw distance.
     
  4. smiko thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #4
    That's what I thought too! I'm very, very surprised. And as mentioned in the original post, I was playing on the crappiest resolution and the lowest quality of anything graphics related I could select.

    Right now, I'm doing a bunch of software updates... maybe the issue is there??
     
  5. smiko thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #5
    Oh my gosh. Okay so I just updated a bunch of softwares (I got this iMac off of ebay, go figure) and voilla!!!! The graphics are working!
     
  6. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

    Ubuntu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #6
    World of Warcraft is a PC/Mac game, not a console game.

    And to the original poster: I'm glad you got it sorted but if you're interested you may want to consider installing Windows 7 via bootcamp. I'm just quoting my friend here but he says that WoW (and SC2) run far better on Windows 7 (on his iMac) - so if you're looking for even better performance you may want to try this out. I've seen his iMac and he gets about 70-80fps with all settings on ultra (except Shadows which is on medium I think) as opposed to 40-50 fps on the mac OS.
     

Share This Page