Worth it to upgrade the RAM in my 24" iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PostHate, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. PostHate macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys, I have a 24" iMac that I bought about 3.5 years ago. The specs are as follows:

    2.66 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400 256 MB
    I installed Lion on it.

    Would it be worth it to upgrade the RAM to 8 GB? since it currently has 2 X 2 GB modules in it, I would have to basically throw those out and purchase 2 new 4 GB modules.

    I'm wondering if it's even worth it to spend the money, or should I just save the money for a new computer sometime in the near future?

    I just don't want to throw money away on something that will be old and outdated soon.
     
  2. FTRDRMZ, Sep 17, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012

    FTRDRMZ macrumors newbie

    FTRDRMZ

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #2
  3. PostHate thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #3
    Yes, mine is an "Early 2009".

    Wow, I didn't realize that the RAM would be so cheap. $38 is a pretty good deal!
     
  4. FTRDRMZ macrumors newbie

    FTRDRMZ

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #4
  5. PostHate thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #5
    Yup, I ordered the Kingston with free shipping (had to pay tax, tho).

    It's a cheap upgrade, but hopefully it wil be worth it :D
     
  6. PostHate thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #6
    Is there anything that I should do after I install the new RAM?

    I read somewhere about "resetting PRAM", what is that and should I do it?
     
  7. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #7
    Just install it and make sure it is seated properly and turn on the computer. It will work fine if seated properly. Nothing else is necessary.
     
  8. Bargle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #8
    Why not check to see that you're actually getting page outs with the ram you got before upgrading? Yes, 38 bucks is cheap, but if it literally does nothing, is that price even worth it?
     
  9. PostHate thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #9
    That's the question I was originally asking.

    How do I check this?
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    Run Activity Monitor. If your Page ins are 10X or less of your Page outs, more RAM will help. Page in/outs are at the bottom of the main window.
     
  11. PostHate thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #11
    I just opened it and this is what it shows. Should I let it run for a while or do something specific on the computer in order to get a better measurement?

    Thanks for the help.

    Untitled.png
     
  12. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    Give it a day or so of normal usage.
     

Share This Page