Would 16 gigs of ram work on the mid 2010 iMacs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jlyanks85, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. jlyanks85 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #1
    I'm looking to buy more ram for my iMac, which is the mid-late 2010 version.

    I have 8 gigs installed right now, but would like at least 12, but would def go 16 if it is possible.

    I read last year on this board somewhere, that the 2010 iMacs had issues having 16 gigs of ram in it. Just asking this to confirm if that's true or not.

    If it is, i'll just stick to 12.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Even the 2009 iMacs could support 16 GB RAM, look here: http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/index-imac.html

    ____________________________________________________________

    Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find similar threads:
    [​IMG]
    ____________________________________________________________
     
  4. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #4
    FWIW, my 2010 iMac doesn't have a problem with 16GB.
     
  5. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #5
    FWIW, I have 32GB in my 2010 iMac. It's down to $430 for 4 x 8GB.
     

Share This Page