Resolved Would either of these RAM sticks work for my macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by VictorianAntiq, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. VictorianAntiq, Aug 26, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011

    VictorianAntiq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #1
    Would either of these RAM sticks work for my macbook?
    I have a late 2006 model Macbook (white [if that matters]) and I was wondering would either of these RAM sticks be compatible? Right now, I'm not sure of the brand of RAM but I have one(1) 512 MB (1GB) stick inside my computer (Which is the default) and I want to upgrade to 2GB. Um, I have DDr2 SDRAM 667 Mhz so, I was just wondering if either of these would be appropriate. Sorry if this seems a little stupid, I know they "look" compatible but I wouldn't want it to fry my logic board or anything. A clear answer would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance! Links below.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/512MB-DDR2-...aultDomain_0&hash=item20bc12a31f#ht_500wt_980


    http://www.ebay.com/itm/LOT-512Mb-R...ultDomain_0&hash=item56392a9536#ht_4718wt_965
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    Um...what? You mean you have two 512mb sticks which equals 1,024gb (1gb), right? In no equation is 512=1,024, hah.

    Those sticks will do fine. Any DDR2 that is PC2-5300 or higher and no greater in capacity than 1GB will do fine. You only have two slots, so to max it out you will need two sticks, each 1GB.
     
  3. VictorianAntiq, Aug 26, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011

    VictorianAntiq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #3
    lol I'm not sure what you're talking about. You've only confused me further. I have one RAM stick inside my computer and it's 512MB which equals 1GB...right? lol I have no clue what you're talking about. But thanks!


    EDIT: Okay, I know what you mean now. And no, I didn't know that...somewhere, someone told me 512MB equaled 1GB. But the RAM chip that I've shown is 512MB so, since I already have 1GB how will I achieve 2GB? If you could explain it to me I'd appreciate it. Thanks.
     
  4. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    Do this.

    Go to the Apple at the top-left corner of the screen. Click and go to About This Mac, then click More Info.

    On the pane on the left, go to memory and it will tell you how much ram is in each of your two slots. It will either say 512MB (which is equal to 512MB) or it will say each slot has 256MB (which is equal to 512MB).

    1GB of RAM is equal to 1,024MB... gigs and megs are simply unit prefix. Like meters and millimeters.
     
  5. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
  6. VictorianAntiq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #6
    Here are the specs. So I have...? And do you still say that the sticks I showed will work? (I'm only buying one btw, I'm trying to upgrade to 2GB)


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ----------


    Ooohhh, okay! So I have two inside my machine right now and they're both 512MB hence the 1GB that I have. So in order to have 2GB I'm must replace both with a 1GB chip? Okay, I understand. Thank you! lol I was so confused. Now, replacing these chips, will it affect my machine?
     
  7. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
    See how it says you have two 512MB sticks? That equals 1,024MB, or 1GB.

    You will need to remove them both and install two 1GB sticks to get 2GB. 2x1GB= 2GB

    It may make some things run with less hangs and load faster as well as enable you to use more applications at the same time.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    Your macbook only has two RAM slots. At the moment each one is filled with 512 MB of RAM, so in total you have 1 GB of RAM.

    However, in order to upgrade to 2 GB, you will have to remove those sticks and replace each one with a 1 GB stick of RAM.

    If you buy the 512 MB sticks off of ebay, you'll be buying exactly what you have and you won't increase your RAM.

    EDIT:MrCheeto, you need to change your name to MrCheetah because your quite fast with the responses. ;)
     
  9. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #10
  10. VictorianAntiq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #11
    lol I guess you all didn't read my "epiphany post".


    EDIT: Well thank you both so much for clarifying that because obviously, I was confused.
     

Share This Page