Would the new Intel Core i7 920 be faster then my Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by techlover828, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    I'm considering upgrading my Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 processor, Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R MoBo, and 8GB of 800MHz ddr2 ram to a Intel Core i7 920 processor, GA-EX58-UD5 MoBo, and 6GB of 1600MHz ddr3 ram.

    This upgrade would cost around $100 after selling all my old parts. So, is this a worthy upgrade? Considering the i7 proc I'm looking at is the cheepest of it's class, and my current proc is the extreme, so top of it's class, not to mension it costs $1000 new vs. the i7 which is only $280 or so. Basically I'll I'm asking is this upgrade is going to be worth it as far as speed?

    BTW I'm running this as a hackintosh, not that would matter in this question.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Has the Hackintosh community gotten Bloomfield working with OS X yet?

    I could have sworn they were, but if not, this upgrade would render it inoperable.
     
  3. The SpinDoctor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #4
    No idea, but spec for spec, the new one will kick ass.
     
  4. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    well I wouldn't upgrade right away I would probably just wait until the people at efi-x to support the x58 architecture as I have one of there cards.

    So specs will be significantly better? Also, would the processor, ram, and mobo be the only things I would need to replace if I wanted to upgrade to the new processor?
     
  5. The SpinDoctor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #6
    Off the top of my head, yes, but MAYBE, just MAYBE a new Power supply if your old one is not powerful enough.
     
  6. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    its 550w, although I thought that the core i7's were more efficient
     
  7. The SpinDoctor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #8
    They are but, the motherboard (i think) consume a little more power.

    Should be fine with the 550W
     
  8. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #9
    ah alright hopefully 550w will be enough, I'm planning on putting in a few more hard drives as well.
     
  9. The SpinDoctor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #10
    More than 4 or 5 could be risky as it puts a lot of stress on one of the rails (cant remember which).

    Dont forget that unless you PSU has dedicated SATA power adaptors, you need to count optical drives as HDD's, and basically anything else with a molex adaptor.
     
  10. Donar macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    I did not find the QX9650 Extreme but the Q9650/3GHz/12MB Cache for 299€ if you really get 1000$ for the QX9650 why not sell and replace it with a normal Q9650 and have a nice pile of cash. You could also try to overclock it through FSB. I Overclocked my Q9450 (2,66GHz stock) to 3.00 GHz with a 800 MHZ FSB without a problem. Bear in mind that you would loose 2 Gigabytes of Ram with your upgrade (dont't know if you need them). Just a thought...
     
  11. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #12
    Well the proc is $1000 new, but I can only get around $450 new and getting Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 would be $300, so $150 is not really worth all that trouble and loss of performance. I think I'll probably just wait a year or two and see where I stand at the point.
     
  12. Donar macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    Yeah, never change a running system. :)
    On the performance part i have to give a little side note:
    From your signature i assume that you run the Q9650 Extreme at stock speed, of 3.00GHz with 1333 MHz FSB and 12 MB Cache it should be as as fast as an "normal" Q9650 so there should be no loss of performance if you replace it. Even my Q9450 at 3.0 GHz should beat it (if Memory performance is needed) because of the increased FSB (1600 MHz) i use to overclock it to 3 GHz. The only Advantage the Extreme should have over the "normal" processor is that the multiplikator is unlocked.
     
  13. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #14
    How do I access the multiplikator? I don't necessarily want it running that hot...
     
  14. Donar macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    The Q9650 Extreme is running fine at 3.0 GHz no need to downclock it. You can unlock a new Menu in the Gigabyte BIOS called "MB intelligent tweaker" there you can set the multiplikator and FSB. Be carefull when changing settings there.
    Edit:
    *To unlock the intelligent Tweaker try Ctrl + F1 in the BIOS.
     
  15. Joerigoesmac macrumors member

    Joerigoesmac

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Genk, Belgium
    #16
    i have an I7 at my work, and in my opinion the quad extreme is better + more stable. You can consider the I7 as a sort of 'beta' or pre-release.
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    Please tell me more.
     
  17. blackhand1001 macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #19
    It depends on what its used for really. Memory throughput and 4+ threaded apps that are a lot better on the core i7, but some number crunching single threaded apps might still run better on the core 2 extreme. I'd just keep your extreme. Its plenty fast and the difference won't be noticeable. You'd also have to purchase the expensive motherboard and the expensive triple channel DDR3.
     

Share This Page