would you trade 2 iphone 3g's 8gig for an iphone 4?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ac921ol, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. ac921ol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #1
    would you trade 2 iphone 3g 8 gig's for an iphone 4???

    or would you sell one iphone 3g (150) and buy an iphone 4 for 300. so essentially you are spending 150 on an iphone 4, and you still have an iphone to spare.
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #3
    Definitely. The iPhone 4 is that much better than the 3G.
     
  3. Shasta McNasty macrumors 6502a

    Shasta McNasty

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    #4
    I would. 3G 8gb is no bueno. iPhone 4 will last you a lot longer.
     
  4. torbjoern macrumors 65816

    torbjoern

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    The Black Lodge
    #5
    I traded my 32 GB iPhone 3GS for a 16 GB iPhone 4 and never looked back. And yes, I would certainly trade 2 x 8 GB iPhone 3G for one iPhone 4 - but I think I would make sure that it were a 32 GB iPhone 4. Not that I need that much storage, but for the resale value.
     
  5. tsolt macrumors regular

    tsolt

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Location:
    Nevada
  6. ac921ol, Feb 11, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011

    ac921ol thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #7
    hmm, alright then, so looks like ill trade my two 8 gigs, so my better half can get an iphone 4.

    Got two options, trade the 2 8 gigs I have for an Iphone 4. (waiting for him to confirm its the firmware, that I can unlock)
    Other wise, I will be selling the 2 gigs and buying this for my other half.
    Includes:
    Iphone 4 (AT&T) - Unlocked with baseband 1.59.00
    Headphones
    Cables / Power
    Original Box
    Protective Case
    all for $300.00
    just gotta make sure it takes my girls sim card, any idea where I can take her sim card to get a mini one, or if t-mobile can offer them?


    Question now is I reset all data and info, etc, etc.
    and once that was done, its asking for me to put in a sim to activate, the only issue is that, I have iphone 4, and my girlfriend has an iphone with a tmobile sim in it. Will hers work??? do i need to head to at&t??? and will they charge me anything??
     
  7. kre62 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #8
    iPhone 3G is just a bad product. Sorry but it just can't keep up. The 3GS or 4 is actually usable. I hated my 3G. Get rid of them ASAP.
     
  8. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #9
    I'd sell one 3G, and either keep the other as a internet/car radio player or give to a friend. Once you put the 3G in airplane mode with wifi, you can easily get more than 20 hours of battery life and it comes in very useful.
     
  9. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    You can cut her sim card to the appropriate size with a template and an exacto knife, has to be well cut, if not, then the SIM card might not work.
     
  10. ac921ol thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #11
    Possible, but She has an extra one, I actually have 3 iphones, one is 16gig (cracked screen, will be fixing now that Im losing the other 2 8gigs) so ill still have one to play with.

    hmm, didnt think of that, and if it doesnt work I can just go get another Sim Card from tmobile and try again or wait until monday to stop by a friends shop and use his mini sim card hole punch. (not sure the other half will be able to wait that long, lol)

    Im getting that from everyone telling me to unload it asap. lol
     
  11. ac921ol thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #12
    Also just reset one of the iphones to clear all the info and now have the
    "No Sim card Installed"
    Insert valid SIM with no pin lock to activate.

    Can I just go by apple and the will activate the phone for me?? or can I go by at&t and they will activate it for me??

    and by activate, I mean just get past this screen, obviously I dont need service on the phone, just want it passed that screen.
     
  12. cootersgarage6, Feb 12, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    #13
    Yes

    YES, now if they were iPhone 3Gs phones, no. But the iPhone 3G?? YES.
     
  13. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #14
    Definitely. The 3G is just slow. I'd rather use the 2G for the style.
     
  14. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #15
    Agreed. Go for it OP.
     
  15. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #16
    use any SIM card from AT&T, old, new, borrowed, deactivated, prepaid, etc; they all work to activate it.
     
  16. iLikeTech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #17
    Yes I would, but I'd rather sell both of them and put the money towards the next iPhone.
     

Share This Page