Wow, after more than 2 weeks, I just found out Touch ID area is a button that can be pressed down

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Goldfrapp, Dec 2, 2016.

  1. Goldfrapp macrumors 601

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
  2. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
  3. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
  4. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 601

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #4
    Really? I thought I read somewhere that Apple did away with a power button and that new MBP is "always on".
     
  5. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    No, they've made it so that it turns on automatically when you open the lid but the power button is still there. The power button is essential for troubleshooting otherwise there would be no way to force it to turn off.
     
  6. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 601

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #6
    Silly me then. My new MBP has had 4 kernel panics so far and wouldn't turn on as a result. So I would close the lid and open it again to turn it back on.

    By the way, is anybody else experiencing kernel panics on their new MBP? I wonder if I should replace it.
     
  7. lite426 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    #7
    Power button doesn't put it to sleep on mine?
     
  8. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    It doesn't put it to sleep. If your MacBook is off, it will turn it on. If it is on, it will do nothing - unless you hold it down for about 10 seconds in which case it will forcibly turn it off (only for troubleshooting purposes).
     
  9. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #9
    Hahaha classic

    But yeah...the button doesn't show the shut down/sleep window
     
  10. lite426 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    #10
    Ah okay. Is there a way to set it so it does?

    On Bootcamp it does function that way.
     
  11. fs454 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles / Boston
    #11

    I feel like there used to be... but taking a poke around system preferences no longer shows an option where I thought it would be (Energy Saver or General?)
     

Share This Page