Wow. I put a SSD and fresh install of Yosemite in my mid 2010 and..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dudeslife, Feb 26, 2015.

  1. dudeslife macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #1
    Wow. I put a 500 gb SSD and fresh install of Yosemite in my mid 2010 macbook pro and now I don't even know if I want to update when Skylake comes out. It really runs great. Such unfamiliar territory to have a notebook that I can't really find a reason to get rid of (I was windows pre-2010).
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    Yep a great machine

    My brother has my old 2010 top spec with an SSD added and it is still a great little machine. I upgraded purely for the retina screen and my eyes love me for it....

    There is a reason that Apple are phasing out HDD now you know why...

    Is that a commodore 64 in your sig??? Awesome haven't seen one in years, there was a game for it called Hover Bover that involved "borrowing" lawnmowers and cutting grass before your irate neighbour could catch you, ahhh they don't make them like that anymore...
     
  3. Sabretooth78 macrumors member

    Sabretooth78

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Location:
    Western NY
    #3
    I did the same with my 2012 cMBP and the performance boost was incredible.

    I have since migrated back to Mavericks and I've noted that the boot times and other loading times are comparable as well with that version of OS X.
     
  4. dudeslife thread starter macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #4
    after I installed my ssd and fresh install of yosemite, I changed my wallpaper and moved my dock to trick my mind into thinking I have a new computer. It diminished my craving to buy another macbook pro.

    Yeah, my Commodore 64 still runs perfectly and sits on a table in my home-office. :D

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #5
    I'd keep it if there's no reason to upgrade. How much RAM do you have?
     
  6. dudeslife thread starter macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #6
    the max of 8 gb. this is my biggest irritation.
     
  7. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #7
    8 is enough.
     
  8. RichardC300 macrumors 65816

    RichardC300

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #8
    Did you address TRIM in any way? My early-2011 is begging for a SSD, but Yosemite has me hesitant.
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    I'm running TRIM off my 512GB Samsung 840 Pro in an early-2011 15" MBP running Yosemite (after disabling kext signing) and it works fine.

    Just remember to turn off TRIM and re-enable kext signing before performing an update that requires a reboot.
     
  10. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #10
    Awesome now that's some top class retro action right there...
     
  11. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68000

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #11

    Load "$",8

    Think my favorite games were Eindeloop (crazy helicopter maze game) and Ghettoblaster (blast the tone deaf walkers!).
     
  12. dudeslife thread starter macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #12
    Here are my favorite games. They are still in my retro collection.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. iRadio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #13
    Raid over Moscow....

    Was that the one you had to fly the planes out of the hangar at the start? God I lost some hours on that....
     
  14. dudeslife thread starter macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #14
    yep. a classic
     
  15. prasys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #15
    Yep , I am using a Mid 2010 15' MBP , recently swapped the 320GB HDD with 256GB SSD and I have to say , the macbook pro now screams

    No more slow booting time , beachballs and all. It makes it to feel like new , with the 8GB of RAM which I have pimped , it feels like a new computer
     
  16. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #16
    The 2010 models have proven to be fine models indeed. My girlfriend is using a 2010 mini that had an SSD upgrade and it still flies (she uses it for photography). At this rate, it will still be fine for another couple of years easily.
     
  17. dudeslife thread starter macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #17
    Did you do the ssd upgrade of the mini? How hard is it?
     
  18. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #18
    It's really not that difficult. Took me about 30 minutes to get it done.
     
  19. dudeslife thread starter macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #19
    I use my 2010 Mini as an AppleTV, I may put an SSD in there this summer.
     
  20. Sickly Grin macrumors member

    Sickly Grin

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
  21. dudeslife thread starter macrumors member

    dudeslife

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #21
    crucial mx200 500GB $249 from Amazon
     
  22. BenDo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #22
    I'm in the same boat as you with my early 2011 13' mb ..fresh install of Yosemite and it feels brand new again...was thinking of upgrading to a 15' once the new mb comes out, but not so sure now.
     
  23. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #23
    I just installed two Samsung 850 Pros today, one in my 2011 MBP 15" and one in my wife's 2012 MBP 13". I already had a Crucial M4 installed in mine and used it without trim for over 2 years, no issues at all. I do have other gripes with Yosemite though.
     
  24. HuRR macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    #24
    I just installed an SSD in my MBP Mid 2012. I am in shock at how much the computer screams now. I should have done this years ago. Wow.
     
  25. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #25
    It really depends on what you need to do. You can't categorically say 8GB is enough.

    Anyway, I've just put a 512GB Crucial MX100 in my 2011 MBP with a fresh Yosemite install. It absolutely screams - I love it, and means keeping this until 2016ish should be easy. The only problem I had was installing iWork 09, but eventually I got it to work so it's all fine!
     

Share This Page