XH-A1 to TV for Live Monitoring

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by swwack91, May 18, 2009.

  1. swwack91 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I want to connect my Canon XH-A1 to a regular 4:3 CRT TV to use as a monitor during a video shoot. However, what I'm finding is that the signal that goes to the TV is 4:3 instead of letterboxed 16:9. I found a way to PLAY BACK 16:9 footage letterboxed on the television, but I can't seem to get the camera to letterbox a live signal from a recording mode.

    Any thoughts? Anyone have an XH-A1 that has solved this issue?
     
  2. FX120 macrumors 65816

    FX120

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
  3. romanaz macrumors regular

    romanaz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    I've used an XLH1 to a 4:3 monitor via bnc cable and all I had to do was hit the 16:9 button and it worked properly. Never tried it with the XHA1 we had at that internship.
     
  4. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
  5. swwack91 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    the tv doesn't have a function to "squeeze" the video signal.

    i'm trying to do it over a regular composite video hookup (red, yellow, white) because that's the only input that this television has.
     
  6. swwack91 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    would using a component hookup make any kind of difference?
     

Share This Page